Snow Flake Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made a quick microwave version of this and it was very good. My other changes were that I used almond milk, Baileys flavored creamer and a tablespoon of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
It's brrrrr cold here in the "Windy" City (the thermometer reads 21 degrees!). Mugs of steaming hot cocoa are just what my hubby and I needed tonight. Unfortunately, this didn't work for us at all. I should have listened to my better half and followed Diana's directions instead of making up my own drink by significantly altering the ingredients called for (I know, I know...). As Sarah Jo suggested, I too substituted a bag of Andes peppermint baking chips for plain white chips (they were left from the holidays and needed to be used up). While not bad, I certainly didn't think this made our cocoa AMAZING (sorry!). My cocoa was pink and looked unappealing to us. Had I enjoyed the Andes chips, I'd make this my Valentine's "go to" drink (it would be quite festive!). Having said that, I'm sure this would be MUCH, MUCH better as written. I will most definitely attempt again, but will NOT change a single thing (trust me, you'll regret if you do). If I'm craving a minty flavor, I'll just dip a candy cane into or add a drop of peppermint oil / extract to my glass. Thanks for sharing, Dinaa! This recipe has super potential as is. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Yum, Yum... We loved this. Thanks for sharing. This will be a new Christmas tradition sprinkled with candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momdepue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Amazing - I ran out of this Cocoa before the regular. It's on my Holiday list from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was fantastic! So festive and a great alternative for my daughter who doesn't like chocolate (which I can't imagine)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for a work Christmas party and everyone LOVED it, thank goodness I brought enough with me to make an extra batch because the first one only lasted an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used all the ingredients as stated and made it on the stove top until chips were melted. Much faster and tasted just as good. You just have to stir more regularly to avoid anything burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The BEST ever! SO EASY in the crock pot and just the right balance - not too sweet, simply delicious! Milk chocolate chips or white chocolate, both work. Good with some Peppermint Schnapps and candy cane stirrers for Christmas parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very easy and the fam loved it! It is pretty sweet. Make sure you serve with redi whip and crushed candy canes. People will be so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
delicious, but just like melted ice cream- a bit too heavy and sweet for a full cup. Perhaps next time I'll mix chocolates and use a bit less cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States