Snow Days Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Not a bad recipe, even if I do usually prefer my potato soup much thicker. I used a little more potato than it called for and a little less milk. I also added a few drops of hot pepper sauce. Definitely good for cold days! This plus a grilled cheese sandwich is a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I've made this soup numerous times, and have even made an entire meal out of it. My husband likes it thicker, so I only use half of the milk that the recipe calls for. I also add extra bacon and green onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Turned out GREAT !!!! used sliced hotdogs instead of bacon , Grandkids loved it !!!! Great in slow cooker too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe was very tasty. I was leery about the amount of salt and pepper, but ended up using the whole amount called for and it turned out really well. I used two cups of chicken broth and one cup of water instead of 3 cups water and only 14 (instead of 16) cups of milk. I also blended up 2 cups of the soup about 15 minuets before it was done and added it to the soup while it finished cooking to make it thicker. Oh, and I used 5 (instead of 3) tablespoons of flour to add to the thickness. It was thick and very flavorful, thanks to all the bacon (and salt and pepper)! I also put Tabasco sauce in my individual serving, YUM! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is a great soup that the whole family loved. I took two of the additional recommendations: use chicken broth instead of water and use 1/2 the milk. Even my picky son said it was the best soup he has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Living In: Bradford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My mom has been making Potato Soup very close to this recipe for 49 years. Only difference is no water and add parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made lots of pots of potato soup over the years and found this one the best,I added 1/2 cup celery w/ onion and simmered potaoes in chicken broth,alot people have asked for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great quick recipe. I added some frozen corn and chopped celry. And took advice from others and reduced water. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA
Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This soup was so good I made it twice in one day, first at a hospice where I volunteer and then again at home for dinner. I added corn and carrot at home. I had half a carrot left over because the other half had been used for a snowman's nose! This is hearty and delicious. Perfect for a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe had good flavor, but it was way too runny. Next time I would not put in that much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States