Snow Days Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Turned out GREAT !!!! used sliced hotdogs instead of bacon , Grandkids loved it !!!! Great in slow cooker too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe had good flavor, but it was way too runny. Next time I would not put in that much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe was very tasty. I was leery about the amount of salt and pepper, but ended up using the whole amount called for and it turned out really well. I used two cups of chicken broth and one cup of water instead of 3 cups water and only 14 (instead of 16) cups of milk. I also blended up 2 cups of the soup about 15 minuets before it was done and added it to the soup while it finished cooking to make it thicker. Oh, and I used 5 (instead of 3) tablespoons of flour to add to the thickness. It was thick and very flavorful, thanks to all the bacon (and salt and pepper)! I also put Tabasco sauce in my individual serving, YUM! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I've made this soup numerous times, and have even made an entire meal out of it. My husband likes it thicker, so I only use half of the milk that the recipe calls for. I also add extra bacon and green onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My mom has been making Potato Soup very close to this recipe for 49 years. Only difference is no water and add parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Not a bad recipe, even if I do usually prefer my potato soup much thicker. I used a little more potato than it called for and a little less milk. I also added a few drops of hot pepper sauce. Definitely good for cold days! This plus a grilled cheese sandwich is a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great quick recipe. I added some frozen corn and chopped celry. And took advice from others and reduced water. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy Krouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made lots of pots of potato soup over the years and found this one the best,I added 1/2 cup celery w/ onion and simmered potaoes in chicken broth,alot people have asked for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is a great soup that the whole family loved. I took two of the additional recommendations: use chicken broth instead of water and use 1/2 the milk. Even my picky son said it was the best soup he has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyse Power

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Living In: Bradford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Excellent soup. If you want to use the whole gallon of milk, just microwave 4-5 more diced potatoes in a little water for about 15 minutes and then mash them up. Add them to the soup anytime during cooking for nice texture and more thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States