Snow Balls in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
If you like mexican wedding cookies you will Love these, the snowball recipe has a little less sugar and uses shortening in it but otherwise they taste very similar. I like them and they are a inexpensive gift for winter holidays & Winter birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I didn't give jars as gifts, but I did make the recipe and these are absolutely delicious. A bit time consuming to roll all the little balls, but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These come out perfect, every time! We sell them for fundraisers! Thankis for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Wow! These cookies are absolutely delicious, I've only had two so far but they are great! Right up there in my top 3 cookie recipes, and that's saying a lot. I really like cookies that have a rather shortbread like texture like these and the flavor is perfect. I used half butter and half shortening because that's what I had, and I decided to make 2 types of snowballs by splitting the dough in half. In one half, I put the teaspoon of vanilla and half a cup chocolate chips (we don't like nuts). In the other, I put a teaspoon of peppermint extract and half a cup of white chips. I got exactly 24 cookies and rolled them in powdered sugar while still warm. Just great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I was scared at first that these would be hard to make, but it is a Very easy recipe. I have made several batches and like to sometimes substitute ground up hershey bar in place of the nuts for my niece who doesn't like nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I couldn't stand the thought of using all that shortening(yuck)so I used butter and it was much like my shortbread recipe. They do need to be rolled in sugar while slightly warm, sugar sticks better. overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I decided to follow one rater's suggestion of snowballs in a bag and thought it would be good to make and try them before giving away the jar version. They taste great - a lot like shortbread but much easier to make. My dough was crumbly but they formed into balls easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Very good - I always make these and teh saltine toffee cookies found on this site. They are awsome, one tip, though, when you roll the cookies, first sprinle in water, then roll - much more sugar and better taste.Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Delicious with or without nuts or raisins. I gave this to my 10 year old niece. She made them by herself and they were awsome. Thank you for the wonderful Christmas idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Did this for a church bake & craft sale. Decorated the jar, put it on a tray and surrounded it with baked cookies. The cookies were sort of dry and bland with all of the shortening, so for the second batch I used 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup shortening and 1/4 cup margarine. I also added 1/4 tsp. of salt. Tips: 1) The powered sugar sticks better if you let cookies cool slightly then roll; let them completely cool and roll again. Can also add sugar sprinkles to the powered sugar for some color. 2) Mix did not completely fill the quart jar, so I put some powered sugar with colored sprinkles in a baggie, tied it with a ribbon and set it on top of mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States