Snicky Snackies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Flavor was good but the directions were kinda faulty. That's why I rated a 3 instead of a 4. Firm Ball Stage is 244º - 248º Hard Ball Stage is 250º - 266º I cooked to 250º to be on the safe side. That temp worked fine for me. I've made snack mix like this before and I knew from experience that 1 - 9x13 pan wasn't convenient for stirring the whole batch. I used 2 - 9x13 pans, easier stirring & less clumping because you've got room to spread the mix out. I really feel bad for you people that had to pick the tiny bits of paper off of the mix. Been there, done that. So here's my best trick: I dump the baked mix onto silicone cooking mats and separate with 2 silicone scrapers. No sticking to the mats or the scrapers. And no swear words picking the paper off the mix! The Caramel Snack Mix on this site is really good. I add mini-pretzels and Cinnamon Crunch cereal to the that one, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Delicious! Very addictive. I wouldn't make this if I were on a diet though. I take these treats with me to football games for tailgaiting. They are a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I am giving the original recipe this rating because the author should say to spray the paper with something so the mixture would not stick. I am a busy mom of 3 kids and don't always have time to read the reviews...they would have been a little bit more helpful and I wouldn't have just spent an hour peeling wax paper off the bottom of the mix. I do give the taste of the recipe 5 stars..but the directions weren't so hot and it took long to save all the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
If I made this again I would stop cooking the caramel mixture sooner. I think 260 degrees is too high. The mixture becomes thicker than it should be which makes it very difficult to coat all the pretzels and nuts. The taste is ok, no one raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
These were really tasty. My mom was skeptical when she found out I was adding an entire cup of butter to "those nice dry roasted peanuts" that she likes so much, but changed her mind once she tried the finished product. I didn't have a whole lot of trouble getting the mixture to separate, although I will say that the recipe could probably do with less of the caramel mixture...I found that to be just a little too much. Overall, really great stuff for snacking. *I made this a second time and reduced the butter by 1/4 cup, and the pretzels were still covered with plenty of caramel, but were much crunchier*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I brought these snacks to a party, and they were a big hit. My family fought over who got the leftovers. (This recipe makes A LOT!) I sprayed the waxed paper with butter flavored Pam and then I sprayed two butter knives with the Pam and started to separate the mixture with the knives as soon as it came out of the oven. Very easy and very fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Bleyenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This recipe was quick and easy. My family loved it and I took it to work and they loved it also. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
It was alright but the ratio of pretzels/nuts to caramel mixture was off. They were too gooey and clumpy. You could probably get by with 2/3 of the caramel mixture and have a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I loved this snack...only problem is that it was hard to keep seperate (like other reviewers stated). This is something new and different and fun to make. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is really good. I only wish I'd doubled the recipe. It was gone in no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States