Snicky Snackies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This was the second time making them, and I got the best compliments this time around! They disappeared in less than 30 minutes! I changed a few things, like microwaving the carmel ingredients in a huge bowl, and cooling the oven-heated mixture on the cookie sheet I used. Once cooled, I just put them in a bowl, omitting the wax paper step. The carmel came out smoother and tastier doing it this way. I also added about 1 tsp of cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp vanilla extract to the carmel to give it less of a butter flavor, which seemed overwhelming. But everything came together better this time around, using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was good and simple. It was so easy to make. My only suggestion is to spray the wax paper with Pam or something because I had to spend quite a bit of time peeling wax paper off of the caramel coating. My guests thoroughly enjoyed this! Certainly recommend. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
this was a great snack that pleased young and old and was relatively easy to prepare. I have made it several times and just use peanuts instead of mixed nuts and it turned out fine. I know I will be making it again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
The temp to cook to, 260 degrees, was to high. It was starting to burn, so I had to stop cooking it early. Also, I would try spreading the nuts mixture over more than one pan so that it won't come out in one large clump like mine. I would also suggest salted nuts since I used unsalted and it needed a little more salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
If you like caramel popcorn - you are sure to love these! This recipe is sooooo good and sooo addicting!! I had no problems with burning or mixing! BUT they were a little tricky getting them off the wax paper, but next time I'll use parchment paper or spray some pam on the waxed paper. Other than that, these were very tasty and an instant hit in my house. Great new snack Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Boy was this a hit during the holidays. It makes alot. I used peanuts instead of mixed nuts and sprayed my wax paper with cooking spray(no Problem with it sticking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This recipe was great. But you need a really big pan to be stir it in. I had to seperate them into two pans. Also parchment paper works much better then wax paper to cool these pretzels on. It is a great twist on carmel corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This is a wonderful snack, everyone loved it. Once you try it, it is hard to stop snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
I made these and jarred them for Christmas gifts. All my testers and gift recipients loved them! I shared the recipe with others who also gave them as gifts. A great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This was my first attempt at making candy and I was surprised how easy it was. They turned out perfect even without a candy thermometer. Only thing I would do is double the amount of nuts. I wish there had been more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States