Snickerdoodles V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Been using this recipe for years and finally getting around to reviewing it! Love these. I took another reviewers advice and froze them after rolling them in the sugar. That way I always have perfect cookies to serve warm at anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The only substitutions I made were: adding 1 tsp. vanilla and used butter instead of shortening as other reviewers recommended. My cookies turned out flat despite having been refridgerated. I believe it was because of my cream of tartar...it was a bit old, but I tried to use it anyway. But my 2 star rating is not because of the flatness of the cookies, but for the taste. I've only made Egg Nog Snickerdooles in the past at Christmas time. They have a much better flavor than these. I don't know what I was expecting, but these were a taste disappointment for me. I will stick to my Egg Nog Snickerdoodle recipe from now on. Sorry Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olivia
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These came out delicious! I did make a few changes that I believe actually improved it. I used 1 cup of sweet salted butter instead of shortening and omitted the salt. I use self rising flour so there is no need for baking soda. I didn't have cream of tartar but they still came out fine. I also added about 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. They came out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I like my snickerdoodles soft and chewy, these turn out hard and crisp. They are a good tasting cookie, just not the texture I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esme1701
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I just used this! It's great. Followed it completely only I left the dough in the fridge for 1 hour before rolling it in the sugar and cinnamon, and I put it back in the fridge between each batch. They came out so great that my grandma wants me to makes these from now on! First time making snickerdoodles and I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I love Snickerdoodles and this is definitely my all time favorite recipe!! I substitute butter for shortening. I also freeze the dough in balls, and they keep great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent cookie! I used salted butter and omitted the salt instead of using shortening and they were amazing! Doubling the recipe was definately no problem. You can't get any easier than this and the flavor was greatl I will be using this for the holidays each year, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Wonderful cookies! I must roll mine small because I got about 100 cookies from this recipe! I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 cup shortening because that is all I had. Also, I ran out of cinnamon/sugar mixture halfway through rolling, and didn't have any more cinnamon on hand, so I did the other half with pumpkin pie spice...I think I like it better!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These cookies are WONDERFUL!! I did tweak the recipe a little by using 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup butter shortening. It gives them the perfect texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made these for some guys that I go to college with and the reviews that I got from them were great. One told me that they "were the most amazing thing he had ever tasted." To be totally honest they were awesome. I used salted butter and left out the salt that the recipe called for and they turned out great. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States