Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Mmmmm good. Didn't change a thing; didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traffic638

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
If you look at snickerdoodle recipes they're all about the same.. so of course they're all delicious. The main differences seem to be shortening versus butter, temperature ranges from 350-400, and servings.. usually 24-36. I didn't have shortening so I used butter (some would say that I ruined them by doing that.. I think they're great though). I also added some vanilla.. not sure if it made a difference or not. I think cooking at 400 is the key.. I followed another recipe that said 350 and made sure not to overcook and they still weren't as good. Then I upped it to 400 and they were much better.. a little crunchy on the outside and just lightly done/soft on the inside (mine sank in a little when cooked for 7 minutes or so.. which to me was perfect). Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
These are delicious and I also added a few finely chopped walnuts to them for just a little extra flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbiegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great recipe. They turned out crunchier than I would like so I cooked them a second time @ 350 instead of 400 degrees for 11 min and they were soft and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
mine were too flat. snickerdoodles 111 is best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Just like Grandma use to make. One word of caution. The cinnamon/sugar mixture at the end has a strange ratio when it comes to color. The end resulting cookie looked entirely too brown and not nicely dusted as in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is the snickerdoodle I remember from childhood!! Perect just as written. I bake some so they are soft, but I like mine crunchy so my second tray is baked just a bit longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is the same recipe as the one in Betty Crocker's 1960's classic "Cooky Book," the same one my mother had as a teenager and that I baked from in the 80's. My 6-year-old picked these out for us to make together today. I'd rate them five-stars on the nostalgia value alone, but they turned out to be delicious, slightly chewy with crisp edges, just as I remembered. The only thing I might do differently next time is add a bit of vanilla to the cake dough when I mix in the eggs, no more than 1/2 tsp should do the trick to make the dough a bit richer. My daughter loved them, too, and had fun rolling out the balls and rolling them around in the cinnamon-sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These turned out really well- which is pretty amazing considering I ran out of sugar (only discovered this right after I got back from the grocery store with butter) and made them with gluten free flour. I think it speaks to the flexibility of both this recipe and snickerdoodles in general. I ended up using 1/2 cup of normal sugar and 1 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, and 3 cups of Pamela's baking Mix instead of the AP flour. Turned out great, thanks for the recipe... sorry I kind of bastardized it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I only gave this recipes 4 stars because I changed a few things just for my preference. I do not like using shortening in any recipes, so I used butter and 2 tsp vanilla. I omitted the cream of tartar completely since I like my cookies softer (as others suggested). The dough was sticky so I put the bowl in the refrigerator, much easier to roll into balls. They turned out awesome, definitley will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States