Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is the recipe my grandmother used which made me originally fall in love with snickerdoodles. I don't have cream of tartar on hand normally so I look for recipes without, but this recipe turns out slightly soft, slightly light, and delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Yumm-o. I tweaked the recipe and used whole wheat flour (which I've been using for lots of stuff lately,) and instead of shortening I used 1/2 cup reduced fat butter and 1/2 cup coconut oil. I'm sure they taste less indulgent than the original, but a bit healthier, and my 3 year old can't tell the difference! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These cookies turned out great! Based on other reviews and some of my preferences, I made the following changes: (1) I used only 1-1/2t cream of tarter; (2) dipped only the tops of the cookies in cinnamon/sugar before cooking; (3) added 1-1/2t vanilla (vanilla make cookies even better!); (4) used only 2 cups of whole wheat flour. Scrumptious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good. Very much like the recipe I lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good, traditional snickerdoodle. I made exactly as directed and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very nice recipe. I halved the cream of tartar, but otherwise left it alone. **Update: I am a culinary student, externing at a high-end restaurant, my Chef is one of the contestants from a past season of "Top Chef" and he said that these cookies "are like CRACK, they are so wonderfully addictive". I'd say that bumps it up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Perfect recipe. I followed suggestion of others and substituted butter for the shortening. I also used half the cream of tartar and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I did bake them about 12 minutes, possibly b/c of the reduced cream of tartar. They turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Mmmmm good. Didn't change a thing; didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traffic638

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
If you look at snickerdoodle recipes they're all about the same.. so of course they're all delicious. The main differences seem to be shortening versus butter, temperature ranges from 350-400, and servings.. usually 24-36. I didn't have shortening so I used butter (some would say that I ruined them by doing that.. I think they're great though). I also added some vanilla.. not sure if it made a difference or not. I think cooking at 400 is the key.. I followed another recipe that said 350 and made sure not to overcook and they still weren't as good. Then I upped it to 400 and they were much better.. a little crunchy on the outside and just lightly done/soft on the inside (mine sank in a little when cooked for 7 minutes or so.. which to me was perfect). Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
These are delicious and I also added a few finely chopped walnuts to them for just a little extra flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbiegirl

Displaying results 31-40 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States