Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Fantastic recipe. So easy and delicious. My only addition was 2 TSP of vanilla. The cookies come out soft and chewy and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADAMS4314
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent recipe. Once I made it a few times, I started experimenting with it and found it was even better with 1/2 tsp of vanilla added. I have even done half butter, half shortening which while good is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaffan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is the recipe my grandmother used which made me originally fall in love with snickerdoodles. I don't have cream of tartar on hand normally so I look for recipes without, but this recipe turns out slightly soft, slightly light, and delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Yumm-o. I tweaked the recipe and used whole wheat flour (which I've been using for lots of stuff lately,) and instead of shortening I used 1/2 cup reduced fat butter and 1/2 cup coconut oil. I'm sure they taste less indulgent than the original, but a bit healthier, and my 3 year old can't tell the difference! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These cookies turned out great! Based on other reviews and some of my preferences, I made the following changes: (1) I used only 1-1/2t cream of tarter; (2) dipped only the tops of the cookies in cinnamon/sugar before cooking; (3) added 1-1/2t vanilla (vanilla make cookies even better!); (4) used only 2 cups of whole wheat flour. Scrumptious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good. Very much like the recipe I lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good, traditional snickerdoodle. I made exactly as directed and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very nice recipe. I halved the cream of tartar, but otherwise left it alone. **Update: I am a culinary student, externing at a high-end restaurant, my Chef is one of the contestants from a past season of "Top Chef" and he said that these cookies "are like CRACK, they are so wonderfully addictive". I'd say that bumps it up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Perfect recipe. I followed suggestion of others and substituted butter for the shortening. I also used half the cream of tartar and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I did bake them about 12 minutes, possibly b/c of the reduced cream of tartar. They turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Mmmmm good. Didn't change a thing; didn't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traffic638

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States