Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My mother also used this recipie and it is my favorite cookie. At Christmas, my 4 children each used a different sugar (cinnamon, red, green, yellow) to roll their cookies in so they could tell their dad which ones they made. I add vanilla to all my baked recipies if it is not one of the ingredients. I bake them on a baking stone and leave them a little under cooked. When I bring them out of the oven, I leave the cookies on the baking stone about 5 minutes. They are always soft and I don't usually have left overs when taken to work. this is my comfort food. It brings back memories of coming home from school to mom bringing out them out of the oven and a glass of milk waiting to wash them down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Thought these were great!! Didn't have any shortening, so I subed in butter instead... added some vanilla (1t.). I got lazy and didn't sift together the flour, salt, CT, etc... but they still turned out good (a little flat, but great flavor). Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is identical to the recipe that has been in my family for over 50 years. I'm afraid to NOT use shortening for fear they won't be the same. These are wonderful and now I bake them for my parents since my mother can't make them anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a nice, simple recipe that probably worked for many others. But about 1/2 of the batch of cookies were burnt and were as hard as hockey pucks. I would recommend to cook them at 375 degrees, not 400. Though the cookies (that weren't burnt were pretty good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Delicious, but I found that after cooling they were slightly more crisp than I would have liked. I sealed them in a plastic bag to trap what moisture was left. They were overall pretty good. If you like a more chewy cookie (as opposed to the "cakey" texture of these) simply omit the cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
the recipe should have called for vanilla extract. maybe that would have made it a little bit sweeter. beside the need for vanilla the cookies were very soft, moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Perfect! Just follow the directions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These cookies turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Got alot of compliments on these. I also left out the cream of tarter and used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYOH1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
made these on Christmas Eve. They turned out great! Used butter instead of the shortening. The cinnamon/sugar topping made too much though (there was a lot left over) But I saved the rest in a little shaker, for making Cinnamon Toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States