Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
The first time i made this recipe.. i thought the dough could've used a little bit more sweetness. Next time i made it, I added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the dough. I baked mine for 12 minutes each(instead of 10), but the time definitely depends on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These have really good flavor...however, like a couple other people have suggested, I would bake for less time or same time at a lower temperature. I baked these for 8 minutes at 400 degrees and they turned out slightly harder than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooketriestocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I've made this recipe several times already. The first few times I've made it with butter instead of shortening and 1 tsp of vanilla. Then, I started to divide the batter into two portions with half the batter with 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and the other portion of the batter with 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Every time it has turned out AMAZING. I just cooked the last batch with butter flavor shortening (instead of the butter) and I didn't like them at all. I would def. recommend using butter instead. The cookies have a better texture and taste this way. I felt that when using shortening the cookies are tasteless and get hard quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
excellent snickerdoodles, just like ina made in Sweden. just be very careful not to over bake these, as they can quickly go very crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
they were ok not my favorite snickerdoodle but I really think a lot that did go wrong came from my substituting splenda instead of sugar , they were puffy instead of chewy and crumbly they were good just not what I like out of a snickerdoodle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Sensational cookies!! I did do one cup unsalted butter instead of the shortening. I used 1/2 tsp. of salt, and 1 1/2 tsp. of cream of tartar. I did not sift the flour. Such good flavor! I will definitely be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Wow... these cookies are just extraordinary. I substituted 1/4 of the cup of shortening with margarine to get a more buttery flavor to the cookies and it worked perfectly without being overwhelming. We'll see what happens once they've been cooling for a while, but for now it's a definite A+! I'll make these many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I just made this recipes and I did not like it at all, which is dissapointing because I love these cookies... I have a recipes binder composed of family/friends recipes, my own, and recipes collected and I only keep ones I like, and I had to remove this recipe. I do bake and cook, the only thing that might have affected this recipe is that I used crisco shortening, butter flavor... The dough lacked flavor, so it tasted like a flavorless cookie with toppings of cin/sugar.I am still in search the best snickerdoddle cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccleveland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These were delicious! Thank you! I did change a couple of things, though. I didn't have shortening, so I used real butter and then left out the salt. I also added a tsp. of vanilla. This is the first time I made Snickerdoodles without buying the premade dough and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes. I used half the shortening and added butter to substitute for the other half. I also added a teaspoon (for 1/2 recipe) of nutmeg and the same amount of baking powder as baking soda. When the recipe says to blend the egg well, blend the egg WELL. I didn't do this the first time and it makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States