Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made these yesterday and they came out really yummy! I used butter instead of shortening, added 2 tsp of vanilla and only added 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar, like several other reviewers did, as well as 1/2 tsp of salt instead of 1/4 tsp like the recipe says. I was half way through making these when I realized I barely had any cinnamon. :( So, I ended up just using nutmeg and sugar to coat the balls of dough in and they still came out really yummy! My dough was a bit wet when I first made it (I think this was because i had my butter sitting out for too long) so I just popped the dough in the fridge for awhile (about 15 mins) and then made the dough into balls and baked. They flattened out nicely (not too flat, mind you) and they are soft and chewy~the perfect snickerdoodle! :) The next time I make these however, I'm going to use more cinnamon! hehe :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gary'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I omitted the cream of tartar and instead of rolling the dough in the sugar mixture, I sprinkled it on top. It made them more like sugar cookies with cinnamon, but they turned out soft and fluffy with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very yummy cookies. I have made these with the exact recipe and with adding about 1/3 cup crushed almond slivers. Both very good. Nice recipe and easy to follow. If your cookies end up too flat/runny just add a bit more flour and soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
These are great cookies! I used butter flavored shortening to increase the butter flavor for these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
too crispy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
LOVE this one! They are perfect! I also mixed sugar and allspice instead of cinnamon YUMMY! When my Dad came to visit he made me make him a few dozen to take with him! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee_McMullen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doyle, California, USA
Living In: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
The first time i made this recipe.. i thought the dough could've used a little bit more sweetness. Next time i made it, I added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the dough. I baked mine for 12 minutes each(instead of 10), but the time definitely depends on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These have really good flavor...however, like a couple other people have suggested, I would bake for less time or same time at a lower temperature. I baked these for 8 minutes at 400 degrees and they turned out slightly harder than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooketriestocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I've made this recipe several times already. The first few times I've made it with butter instead of shortening and 1 tsp of vanilla. Then, I started to divide the batter into two portions with half the batter with 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and the other portion of the batter with 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Every time it has turned out AMAZING. I just cooked the last batch with butter flavor shortening (instead of the butter) and I didn't like them at all. I would def. recommend using butter instead. The cookies have a better texture and taste this way. I felt that when using shortening the cookies are tasteless and get hard quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
excellent snickerdoodles, just like ina made in Sweden. just be very careful not to over bake these, as they can quickly go very crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States