Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sandyesweets
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was my first time making snickerdoodle cookies and they turned out perfect! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
These cookies are delicious. My only recommendation is to increase the amount of cinnamon that is used to roll the dough balls in, but I like a lot of cinnamon. Overall, very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
One of my favorite cookie recipes to make! All my coworkers love them every time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
We love snickerdoodles in our house! This recipe is very good--I use half butter and half shortening because my cookies always come out very flat. I thought this might help with that issue. It didn't. I cannot make a fluffy snickerdoodle for the life of me! I also cut back on the cream of tartar because hubby likes them softer. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Use 1" cookiescoop and 3:1 sugar to cinnamon ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Le Roy, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These cookies are awesome! Instead of shortening, I used salted butter and the baking time wasn't even quite 8 minutes (knock off a minute or close to two). I took it out the oven for about six minutes and just let it cool out. When I did it for 8 to 9 minutes the bottom of the cookies were too dark, so the second batch I kept a close eye on them. Definitely will make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This recipe wasn't bad, but it wasn't a snickerdoodle to me. It didn't taste bad, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Not my favorite recipe. Too greasy. Next time I will decrease the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Perfect and foolproof recipe, even for the somewhat baking-challenged like myself. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of one thing...I used half butter and half shortening, only because that was what I had on hand. These are the best snickerdoodles I have ever made, and my daughter, a snickerdoodle afficionado, totally agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wow! Hold on, I can't type right now because I'm stuffing cookies in my face. Okay, I used regular shortening as directed. I bought it special for this recipe before I read the reviews that some people had used butter. So, I went ahead and used it. I added about 3/4 a cap full of vanilla. Just because. No idea what that turns out to. Maybe 1/8 tsp? A little extra salt only because I used the wrong measuring spoon. Not an overly skilled chef. I found the dough dry and crumbly. It was making me fairly cranky. I squished a ball of dough together, rolled it around the cinn-sugar and dropped it on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I might have made them bigger than the recipe said to. I like cookies. Bigger must be better. Baked them at 375 for the first tray for 8 minutes, expecting to give them more time. Just wanted to keep an eye on them. With two minutes to go, they still looked like cinnamon dough balls. I was not happy. But, I let them bake for another, maybe 6 minutes (checking on them every two minutes) and they turned into the most beautiful, perfectly shaped darlings! Crispy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside. Little packages of nummy goodness. Second tray, I bumped up the heat to 400 and made them smaller. I think they took about 11 minutes. Head change didn't seam to make a difference. These are the ultimate, perfect Snickerdoodle. Nicely crackled on top. Perfect texture. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States