Snickerdoodle Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
The end result reminded me more of a sugar cookie, than a snickerdoodle. Even with the nutmeg there was no type of zing or anything that made this cookie memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My husband made these and used veg oil instead of shortening and only 1/2 the amount of nutmeg. They were the best snickerdoodles I've ever had!!! And I thought that I was the snickerdoodle queen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Overton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
VERY GOOD! I add cinnamon to the batter and used brown suger, cinnamon,and,nutmeg for the topping.Perfect sinkerdoodle cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were okay. The sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg needed to be doubled and these burned really easy, for some reason. And they didn't really spread. They were kind of snickerdoodle blobs. Not my favorite snickerdoodle recipe, but it's acceptable. It was easy, that's for sure. NOTE: They've been downgraded to a no-go. Husband did not like these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Perfectly crispy with a nice light fluffy center. I used mace instead of nutmeg since I had none on hand, and they still taste perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
well... i followed evry direction.. and they jus did not come out very good... :( i was really looking forward 2 some good snickerdoodles.. but was introduced 2 really puffed up doughy at first then turned hard as rock.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Probably the best i have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betty Ann
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Good one!! Love the addition of nutmeg. I also add a touch of nutmeg to the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I had never made Snickerdodles before or tasted them, but they are my husband's favorite cookies...so I thought I would give these a try. I liked the addition of nutmeg to roll the cookies in, next time I may try freshly ground nutmeg to see how much that changes the flavor. My husband thought these were spot on though, just like his grandmother used to make which is a pretty high compliment. Thank you Cathe for posting this recipe, I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
After reading the reviews, I decided to use the nutmeg in the sugar, cinnamon mix. Being my first time making snickerdoodles, I was amazed at how well they came out. I did make one other change, I used butter instead of shortening. I think it really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States