Snickerdoodle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was AMAZING. Soft, moist, and the topping was pretty sweet. I added nutmeg,and brown sugar in the topping. I didn't have enough flour so i used bisquick, yet it came out so delicious. Really quick and easy. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good! Family LOVED it! Only made a few changes. Replaced half the flour with wheat flour, added 2 tbs of cinnamon to the batter and used low fat butter and skim milk instead of shortening and whole milk. Doubled the ingredients to make a double batch, but still used same size square glass pan, but baked it an extra 10 minutes. Made the perimeter a little crunchy and the center chewy. (My wife and I like chewy snickerdoodles, the kids like crunchy ones, so everyone was happy). Will be making this again (just not very often, not exactly on our healthy lifestyle list, but I LOVE snickerdoodles and this cake!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chelsea rose
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I give this a five star; however, I must admit, I changed the recipe a bit: for the topping I mixed 3 tbsp. white sugar, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, and 3/4 tsp. cinnamon (no butter). For the batter I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, I added in 3/4 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla. I baked it at 325 for 22 minutes and it turned out perfect! It was so moist and flavorful and it was gone within 12 hours! Easy and I love how it uses things just sitting around in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Photo by jfree52
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I love coffee and anything that goes with it! This cake has a great balance between moisture and crumble. I only had rice milk on hand at the time, but it still came out great. Super easy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfree52

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
The best part about this cake is that it tastes like you put way more time, effort, and ingredients into it than you actually do! All of the ingredients are always kept on hand, and it is very easy to make. The cake turned out absolutely delicious! I, like the other users, put some cinnamon into the batter. I also poured half the batter in the pan, then sprinkled more cinnamon and sugar over that before putting in the rest. I also doubled the topping using half white and half brown sugar. Next time I'd put half of the topping in the middle. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
My husband loves this cake. I will be making this whenever I need a coffee cake. Just wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I loved this!!!! I didnt have shorting so used butter. But turned out great!! But if your looking for an easy and from scratch cake this is it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I made this cake for my boyfriend and he told me this was the best desert I've ever made. That's a pretty good compliment considering I bake something just about every day. The only changes I made were substituting shortening for butter (only because I didn't have butter....next time I will use butter) I tripled the topping and put half batter in the pan, layered in half the topping, then poured the rest of the batter in and topped with remaining topping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I just made this, n the batter turned out like a cookie dough. Can someone please tell me what is wrong, as I went by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I doubled this recipe to fill a 9x13 pan and needed to bake it about 10 minutes more than the listed baking time. As far as coffee cakes go, this is pretty good. It's definitely better than some of the others I've made off this site. I added cinnamon and vanilla to the batter. Though there isn't much that makes this taste like a snickerdoodle, I think this is perfect for breakfast or a tea. The batter would also be a great base for banana cake or apple cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States