Snickerdoodle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chelsea rose
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I give this a five star; however, I must admit, I changed the recipe a bit: for the topping I mixed 3 tbsp. white sugar, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, and 3/4 tsp. cinnamon (no butter). For the batter I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, I added in 3/4 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla. I baked it at 325 for 22 minutes and it turned out perfect! It was so moist and flavorful and it was gone within 12 hours! Easy and I love how it uses things just sitting around in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I tried this recipe this morning and it came out wonderful, especially the topping. I doubled the topping and added some cinnamon to the batter. The next time i make it i will add more sugar and triple the topping so i can swirl some through out the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This recipe is nice and moist and has a great topping. I found it rather bland though but that could easily be fixed with adding some cinnamon or your favorite spice to the cake itself and perhaps using brown sugar for the topping. It just needs a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I loved this!!!! I didnt have shorting so used butter. But turned out great!! But if your looking for an easy and from scratch cake this is it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
i made this cake with my girls. we doubled the recipe, using a 9 by 13 pan, and we swirled through the topping with a knife after sprinkling it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I made this cake for my boyfriend and he told me this was the best desert I've ever made. That's a pretty good compliment considering I bake something just about every day. The only changes I made were substituting shortening for butter (only because I didn't have butter....next time I will use butter) I tripled the topping and put half batter in the pan, layered in half the topping, then poured the rest of the batter in and topped with remaining topping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
My husband loves this cake. I will be making this whenever I need a coffee cake. Just wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I doubled this recipe to fill a 9x13 pan and needed to bake it about 10 minutes more than the listed baking time. As far as coffee cakes go, this is pretty good. It's definitely better than some of the others I've made off this site. I added cinnamon and vanilla to the batter. Though there isn't much that makes this taste like a snickerdoodle, I think this is perfect for breakfast or a tea. The batter would also be a great base for banana cake or apple cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wanted a quick and tasty coffee cake, this fit the bill. Added 1/4 teaspoon each cinnamon and nutmeg to batter, also swirled topping through batter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This recipe is amazing. The texture of the batter before baking came out a little odd, but the result was fantastic. I didn't have shortening, so I added some butter and it really helped. My family loves the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States