Snickerdoodle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
i made this cake with my girls. we doubled the recipe, using a 9 by 13 pan, and we swirled through the topping with a knife after sprinkling it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This recipe is nice and moist and has a great topping. I found it rather bland though but that could easily be fixed with adding some cinnamon or your favorite spice to the cake itself and perhaps using brown sugar for the topping. It just needs a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Quick and easy-and good with vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOUT100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I doubled this recipe to fill a 9x13 pan and needed to bake it about 10 minutes more than the listed baking time. As far as coffee cakes go, this is pretty good. It's definitely better than some of the others I've made off this site. I added cinnamon and vanilla to the batter. Though there isn't much that makes this taste like a snickerdoodle, I think this is perfect for breakfast or a tea. The batter would also be a great base for banana cake or apple cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
My husband loves this cake. I will be making this whenever I need a coffee cake. Just wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I tried this recipe this morning and it came out wonderful, especially the topping. I doubled the topping and added some cinnamon to the batter. The next time i make it i will add more sugar and triple the topping so i can swirl some through out the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Wanted a quick and tasty coffee cake, this fit the bill. Added 1/4 teaspoon each cinnamon and nutmeg to batter, also swirled topping through batter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I was not impressed with this recipe. I did as some of the other reviewers suggested and added vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. The cake was very flat and dense, not at all light and fluffy like I expect coffee cake to be. Husband and I were very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
UPDATE: ** Below is my original review, but I wanted to lower my rating to 2 stars. I just made this cake again. This time I was short on butter, but I had some shortening, so I used it in the batter, but still used butter for the topping. I was extremely disappointed with the results. The cake was very dense, and the flavor was off. For those of you who have tried and were disappointed, or who are thinking of trying it, just skip the shortening and use butter. The cake will be richer, fluffier, and have more flavor. Last time, I just used butter exactly in the amount called for shortening, and cut it in as the recipe says, and it was much nicer. Also, try adding vanilla to the batter, and making extra topping to put in the middle of the cake. Hope this helps!! ORIGINAL REVIEW: **** This cake had a nice flavor. I don't think it tasted exactly like a snickerdoodle though; it actually reminded me of a box mix that used to be available for a coffee cake that came with its own disposable pan in the box. Anyway, I doubled the crumb topping because it didn't seem like enough. Next time, I think it would be a lot nicer if I put half of that into the cake itself, and make it into more of a coffee cake. Also, I used real butter instead of shortening, substituted one-for-one, to avoid the use of chemical by-products, and I added a teaspoon of vanilla. These changes worked well. In short, it's an easy and nice recipe, if you want coffee cake, but no substitute for snicke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I loved this!!!! I didnt have shorting so used butter. But turned out great!! But if your looking for an easy and from scratch cake this is it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States