Snickerdoodle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
As everything does, this has pros and cons. Its better than anything!! I used it for multiple things and events. I am glad the world has chefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
this is an excellent tasting coffee cake! I followed the suggestions of a few other reviewers and doubled the cinnamon/sugar mixture adding half to the middle of the cake batter. I also added a tsp. vanilla and a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter for more flavor. I also poured 6 Tbl. of melted butter over it immediately after removing from the oven. I think next time I will also add a tsp. of cream of tartar since snickerdoodle cookies contain that ingredient. This is a perfect cake to share with a friend while catching up on each other's lives over tea. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This tastes just like a snickerdoodle cookie! I, too, added 1/2 t of cinnamon and vanilla extract to the batter. Glad I did, since I made buttercream frosting to go with this, not the sugar-cinnamon topping. Also, made cupcakes: 350 degrees for 19 minutes and 15 minutes for mini cupcakes. Thanks for the recipe! Update: I used Buttercream Frosting II from this site and followed it to the letter, but added 1 t of cinnamon. Wow! Made this cupcake stand out even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is exactly what the name says it is: a cake that tastes like a snickerdoodle cookie. The texture is a bit more crumbly than normal cake; it is also denser and a bit drier. It was an interesting recipe-the kids loved it with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Everyone loved this cake. I sprinkled some cinnamon & a little vanilla extract into the batter. Doubled the cinnamon & sugar for the top but put 1/2 the batter in the pan, sprinkled 1/2 the cinnamon-sugar mixture on and put the rest of the batter in the pan sprinkling the rest of the cinn.-sugar mixture on top. Made a Cinnamon Cream Cheese frosting which was very good but a little to sweet for me. Next time I will try a glaze or a frosting that isn't so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was so good. I used margarine instead of shortening and it turned out fine. Some of the sugar and cinnamon mixture on top caramelized and gave it a nice crunch. The inside was soft and moist but the edges were crunchy. I baked it for the full 40 minutes in an 8x8 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
If you're craving that snickerdoodle taste without having the time to make cookies, then this is the recipe for you! This is so easy and quick to make - I think from the time I started until I got it in the oven was maybe 15 minutes. The only thing I changed was I added 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar to the dry ingredients because my cookie recipe calls for that, and in my opinion it's what makes that cookie 'special'. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, and it turned out great. A word of caution, make sure you start checking your cake before the 35 minutes is up. Mine was done at about 30 minutes, and I probably could have taken it out of the oven a couple of minutes before that even if I had checked it sooner. This had a nice, slightly crunchy topping, and a fluffy, sweet middle. So good! I know I will be making this one again for sure since it's so incredibly easy and uses ingredients that I always have around the house. Thanks for the recipe, Katee2! Okay, so now that I'm done writing out my review, I gotta go get another piece...it is really that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I followed recipe exactly. Easier and tastier than a box cake! I do recommend doubling the topping. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very nice recipe, and it does taste like a snickerdoodle! I did find that adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. vanilla to the batter helped the flavor. I used butter instead of shortening (I never have shortening) and I really enjoyed the end product. 35 minutes at 350 was perfect for my oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jharmon27
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very moist and flavorful. I did add about a cup of Pumpkin because it just sounded good! And it was! Next time I would add some of the sugar/cinnamon topping to the cake mix as well. I think it would also be good with a light cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States