Snickerdoodle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These are okay, but They are missing something. Definately not sweet enough. I will have to play with the recipe & adjust it to my families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Wish I would have read reviews before making this. Is nothing like a bar and tastes like eggs! It is pretty much a dry, thin cake! Don't wast your time or ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Not sure how to rate these.... I was wanting a bar type cookie, but instead, this is a coffee CAKE!!! These are NOT BARS!! (I was really wanting bars) That said... it was a very moist and delicious cake. The first time I made these, I put cinnamon in the batter, but I prefer a white cake, so the next time I made these, I left the cinn out of the batter and made a topping of sugar, cinn, nutmeg, walnuts and finely shredded coconut. It turned out delish! Also, in a 9x13 pan, the cook time is longer than the stated 10-15 minutes. I believe mine took about half an hour.. but I can't remember... I just took it out when the toothpick inserted in center came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is a cake and it is AWFUL. I tried tweeking it several times but nothing takes the egg-flavor out. My husband wouldn't even touch it and he loves cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was okay. Kind of bland. But it is not a Snickerdoodle. Not even close. The classic Snickerdoodle has cream of tartar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very disappointing in terms of taste and texture. It is very egg flavored and not the bar cookie I expected, although with a bit of tinkering it would be an acceptable sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This cake bar turns out very bland; I even added cinnamon to the batter and sugar to the topping. Perhaps substituting butter for the shortening would help. I will not make these again; my family would not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mayling
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I didn't really care for this recipe. I thought it tasted like eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I loved this recipe because not only they were very good they were fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This recipe didn't taste anything like a snickerdoodle, or even a snickerdoodle bar. It came out tasting like a not moist sponge cake, but it was ok. I hope it turns out better next time if I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States