Snappy Turtle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Wonderful cookies, every bit as good as the bakery ones. This recipe is a keeper for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
THANK YOU FOR SUBMITTING THIS RECIPE. It is the exact same recipe that I inherited(Original clipping from the newspaper from about 50 years ago!!!) from my grandmother. I somehow missplaced it and was horrified because it was the only copy I had. I only make them for christmas and send them to my family across the country! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
also from my mom's fav recipes out of the mary margaret mcbride encyclopedia of cooking books. excellent cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
wonderful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
thank you for posting this turtle cookie recipe. my mother used to make these for birthday parties, and when we went to summer camp, but the recipe was lost many years ago--about 50!!! I just found this and can't wait to make them. I never would have guessed they had maple flavor, which is what gives them that unique flavor. thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I doubled the recipe the first time I made it: it was a bit time consuming. Let me tell you these were a hit! And they do taste great. The egg whites really hold the pecans on the bottom of the cookie! As this recipe is written, I used 1/4 tsp maple syrup instead of the 1/8 tsp flavouring. Not sure if it added much, but they did taste great. For the icing, I did as this recipe indicated except used only 6 tblsp of milk. I didn't need to add more than 1 cup icing sugar, it was a perfect consistency, and had a really nice, sweet, dark chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made these for recipe group 12/04/2011. These were a cute little cookie. The full recipe yielded 21 cookies using a leveled cookie scoop. I found out from a lady on the recipe buzz that this cookie was actually a Pillsbury recipe contest winner from 1952 by the same name. The recipes really are exactly the same, except the icing is a tad different. I did not have unsweetened chocolate so I used the icing from the original recipe calling for semi-sweet chocolate and adding 1/2 cup extra of powdered sugar to thicken it. It was a little sweet, so I would stick with the icing recipe here. However, the cookie has just a nice light sweetness, like a shortbread, which I liked. The same lady suggested covering the pecans well to avoid them from burning. After I scooped the cookie on I pressed down slightly, to shape, and then pushed the pecans in a little further. The cookies don't spread too much, and it worked well. Make sure to save the egg white from the second egg. The Pillsbury recipe indicates the one egg should be separated in the ingredients list. I also used 105 pecan halves. The original recipe does state 1 full cup. The cookie looks just like the picture and refridgeration sets the chocolate icing nicely. Despite little recipe quirks, that deviate from the original, I enjoyed making these and were surprised how nicely they turned out. Kids would really love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So much fun to make! We made them for a Christmas cookie competition. We decorated the backs of them with white, green, and red frosting. We also gave them green gel eyes. It made them much more visually appealing. Lots of fun. Yummy cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These are tasty little critters. Great selection Recipe Group for 12/4/2011! Not only are they scrumptious, but they are cute as can be. Kids will love them. Just a note: I used quite a bit more than 1 cup of confectioners’ sugar for the frosting. I also slightly molded the cookies to make sure the pecans were attached snugly. Now I just need a place to hide them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States