Snappy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
My mom made these regularly when we were growing up and they were one of the few ways I would eat veggies as a kid. I still love them today. My suggestions for tweaks would be to use tarragon vinegar instead of distilled white and frozen french cut green beans instead of canned. Then it would be perfect like hers :) I'm planning to make a healthier version of this tonight using turkey bacon & EVOO to saute the onions, and my suggestions for tarragon vinegar and frozen french cut beans. Overall though, this is one of my favorite veggie side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Wonderful!!! Used frozen green beans, real bacon bits and cider vinegar. Sauted onion (about 1/2 cup) in 1 T heart-healthy margarine. Added cooked green beans, vinegar and bacon bits ans sauted about 10 minutes. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These were pretty good. Next time I will cut down on the vinegar, I thought it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
not favored at our house, better described as "sour" green beans than snappy ... may have been better with 6 slices of bacon - I only used 2 (w/ my usual method, more than enough bacon flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Will not be making again. I used red wine vinegar and that was a mistake, causes the onions to turn pink. Flavor is not good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made this with home grown green beans, right off the plant. They were fantastic! All around winner. I've made them a few times. Only thing I don't like is every time they've come out a little greasy. But not enough to deter people to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very tasty- can always use more bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very very good!!!! I doubled so we would have some leftovers for me to take to work for lunch and used apple cider vinegar instead of white. Def one I will be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very tasty! I used veggie bacon and frozen french style green beans......turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
We weren't a huge fan of this one. My husband said that it seemed more like pickled green beans. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States