Snappy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I did this receipe for Thanksgiving Dinner as I was asked to bring a "green" veggie..I did use Frozen Green beans, and micowaved them w/ the bacon onion/vinegar it was quick/easy and Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This is an awesome recipe that my neighbor makes every year for our annual holiday get-together. It's always the first to go! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I could eat this all day, but definitely use fresh, steamed green beans and red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
My husband really liked these, but I made them into a "cold" dish. I used fresh green beans, "garlic red wine vinegar" and also added minced garlic. I also used already cooked bacon to eliminate some fat and then steamed everything together in my microwave, let it cool & served. Nice easy side, thanks Casey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is a simple recipe for excellant beans. I used beans from my garden and cut up the bacon into small pieces before frying it. It was a hit with my company that I had for dinner. Will definately make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I was looking for something a little different and this recipe fit the bill. Excellent way to use up some green and yellow beans from my garden. I steamed them first then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I added a little minced garic with the onions and also used red wine vinegar. Sprinkled sliced almonds on top before serving. Husband and I both loved this dish and will make again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Green beans were good but there was too much bacon grease for my taste. Cut it down to two slices. Added two cans instead of one. Vinegar did add a new twist though. Threw in some toasted sesame seeds for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macclenny, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Our family loved this recipe--used one lb. package of Trader Joe's frozen haricot verts, steamed. Cut up six slices of pre-cooked bacon and sauteed with one chopped onion in a little olive oil then added red wine vinegar, kosher salt, freshly ground pepper and the beans. Very little effort for a new and delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Yum! I agree with other reviewers - halve the bacon and it's good, otherwise too greasy. I also used red wine vinegar - nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I thought this was just average. Not great. Maybe I did it wrong. It wasn't bad but maybe I should have used fresh green beans (although it asks for canned) and I used the white vinegar but someone suggested red wine vinegar instead. It was also a tad greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States