Snapper Veracruz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I really loved this recipe. I read the reviews and didn't put any cinnamon in it. After tasting it, I am glad I didn't put it in. I also used cod, I didn't have access to red snapper. I had leftover capers from another dish so I did put them in. It is not a necessary ingredient in that the brininess of the olives was plenty. Easy dish and I will be making it again. I saw some reviewers put cheese on, I liked it the way it was, I loved the lightness of it and cheese would have made it a heavier dish. Serve this with company, they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I was extremely hesitant about putting in the cinnamon, but I did it anyway. BAD IDEA! I'll make it again without the cinnamon and re-review. Please, please, please don't ruin your fish with this recipe. No cinnamon! Look at other Veracruz recipes first. This one is a good basic recipe minus the cinnamon. No cinnamon! Okay, I think I've gotten my point across. If you use the cinnamon you can't say you weren't warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Good recipe, however I only used a pinch of cinammon. I have also tried with Rotel and chicken. Works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I also topped it with cheese. Pepper Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was great, my wife loved it and it was very easy to make. I left out the capers and added some spicy peppers. We also had some canned "fire-roasted tomatoes with garlic" and that was a nice flavor, roasting anaheim peppers might be good too. The basic recipe is pretty flexible, so you can adjust the seasonings to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Made it with what's on-hand: frozen cod pan fried instead of snapper baked. Oregano instead of cinnamon, based on other reviewers' comments. Added some pickled jalapenos for extra spice. Nice easy dish with rice or roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I've visited Veracruz and think this recipe is a great start, but definitely cut the cinnamon in half. Also, add a couple tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley, a teaspoon of dried oregano, and a couple of bay leaves. Lastly, make sure to wrap the fish and sauce in a foil tent before cooking in the oven. In Veracruz, they serve it in the foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Nothing like having fresh snapper cooked on the beach. I'm not a big fan of fish but I love it... Hmmmmmmmmmmm GODDDD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belize City, Belize District, Belize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I live in Mexico, so I consider myself semi-knowledgeable when it comes to Mexican tastes. The recipe did not taste very authentic....I've been to Veracruz many times...and the ingredients were there, but the taste was lacking. Also, the cinnamon was wrong! Too much and wrong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kirch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States