Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
YUM!!! I used Splenda and New Zealand apples, it's all had on hand, and it came out great. I appreciate the lower-sugar recipe! This will be on our rotation year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I've made this recipe several times lately. It is an easy, healthy fall side dish. I had to double the recipe to feed my family. I took the tip to microwave the sweet potatoes for 8 min and scoop out flesh. This is a very easy way to bake them! The first time I didn't have granny smith apples (I don't remember which kind I had) and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I doubled this recipe and it came out quite pasty. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I just tried this yesterday for Thanksgiving. My family hates sweet potatoes but I keep trying every year to find something to make with this vegetable. THIS IS IT!! In fact, we voted to add this delicious recipe to our rotation of everyday side dishes!! I made 2 small dishes of it, and topped one with marshmallows. Everyone loved BOTH. Thanks for this great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIJANUARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These were unreal! And so easy! I microwaved the sweet potatoes because the oven was being occupied by the turkey. The apples needed to simmer for a bit longer than this recipe says to get soft. I used Braeburn apples, they cooked up perfectly. I used a more cinnamon and nutmeg instead of allspice because I didn't have any. Once they were done I just threw it all together and used my handheld mixer to combine everything. There were perfectly sized chunks of apples, and they REALLY complimented the potatoes! I was pleasantly surprised! I will make this again every year. My husband who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate two helpings! Great EASY recipe! Thanks! My new Thanksgiving staple...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennanX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a great recipe. The only change I would make is to boil the potatoes on one side of the stove while doing the apples on the other. BOTH take @ 15 minutes to be ready to mush. I also added marshmellows on top to make it pretty for the kids. My 4 year old said she didn't like sweet potatoes but after 1 spoon asked for a bowl. just the right sweetness. These would be good with pork and ham too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
GREAT!!! I also did the sweet potatoes and apples in the microwave and it worked wonderful!! My sister who doesn't like sweet potatoes actually liked this and asked for more. Thanks for the great recipe! I will make this recipe again! PS this would make great baby food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I thought this was tastey! I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave (much less prep work this way), and also cooked the apple in the microwave. Just put the apple, butter, etc. in a measuring cup and cook for about 2 minutes on high. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I loved this recipe! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Springs, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
a hit! my family loved them...including the 3 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States