Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Ok this is a great recipe, even though I messed up! I forgot the white sugar and didn't cook the apples long enough so I had small pieces instead of it being smooth. BUT, it was still good! Added nutmeg and ground cloves to really give the apple pie effect, but that is my own personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
We really liked this and will make again. I baked the potatoes in a microwave and scooped the flesh to save time. I wanted a smooth puree so I used the milk (well, soymilk) and pureed with a hand-blender. I used brown sugar because it's more flavorful and a golden delicious apple because it's what I had. I think the Granny Smith might be better for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
AH-mazing! I used granulated brown sugar instead of white and a little extra cinnamon, and the apple "smushed" right along with the sweet potatoes. I also added 1/2 cup of raisins. It honestly tasted like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Awesome!! Easy too. I boiled the sweet potatoes then drained them, I left them in the strainer while I sauteed the apples. Next time I think I could even skip the butter & use a little apple juice. Then I mashed it all together, put it in an 8x8 baking dish, sprinkled a little brown sugar on top & baked for 15 minutes at 375. Didn't need the sugar but it was good! I will ABSOLUTELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These came out rather mild on my first try, but the subtly sweet flavor grew on us. It's now the most requested item on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
im not a fan of sweet poatoes. but i liked this. i added a little brown sugar and used extra apples. i also cooked my potatoes in the microwave. cant wait to make this for christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. However next time I think I will add a second apple because while this was excellent as made, it didn't taste anything like apple pie! Like another revieweer I made the sweet potatoes in the microwave. It's faster and easier and the sweet potatoes are mashed at the end anyways so it doesn't matter if they're soft when they are peeled. I used sugar substitute in place of the sugar. All in all a very tasty dish. A definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was really good - exactly what I was looking for: semi-sweet but also tastes super healthy. I used 1/4 C brown sugar instead of 1/2 C white, and probably more like 1/4 C milk. I also added about 1/4 C applesauce, because I wanted to make it a little sweeter (since I used less sugar) and also thinner. Also about 1/2 tsp salt. I love it, but I think following the original recipe would garner superb results as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This has become a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
4 plus-easy. Husband wanted a little salt. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States