Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Pretty good, my picky 5 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Decreased sugar by one half. Inadvertently cooked apples in a skillet instead of a saucepan, meaning I couldn't really cover with a lid while they simmered. As a result, they sort of caramelized, which added an extra, yummy flavor dimension. To soften, I put them in the microwave for 1 min before mashing. I'll probably try to repeat that "mistake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
this recipe looked intriging from the start. what a neat way to prepare two of our favorite foods! after cooking this on the stove i did a partial mash then put it in a casserole with a dark brown sugar/chopped pecan topping & baked it at 350 for 10 minutes. my boyfriend made yummy sounds all through dinner. thanks elfindancer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Different, but we enjoyed it. I added a bit of brown sugar, and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This was a good recipe but not as good as all the other reviews made it out to be. It essentially tastes like sweet potatoes mixed with homemade applesauce not apple pie. I'll probably make it again but it's not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
What a great sweet potato dish. The only things I did different was I used 2 apples, and instead of just white sugar I used 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar and a few tsp of white sugar. As for the spices I did the tsp of cinnamon with 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1/8 tsp of allspice. I used my hand mixer to mash the potatoes and apples. I am so glad I decided to give this dish a try. Perfect for this time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This is my husband's favorite ever since I made it for Easter. The first time, I prepared it exactly from the recipe. The next time, though, I used one large can of sweet potatoes, a bit of extra brown sugar, and used cider instead of cream or milk. Delicious! The masher gives just the right size of apple bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
These sweet potatoes were SO yummy! I usually make another sweet potatoe & apple recipe, but this one is going to replace that one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I tried this recipe and was not impressed. Sorry! I tried adding more sugar and it just didn't help It was alittle to tart for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I need help with this recipe. Do I file it under dessert or vegetable side dish? My husband and I are all still undecided. It tastes so great and we cannot talk with our mouths full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States