Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Wonderful recipe. I love it as did my family. This will be my "standard" way of fixing sweet potatoes in the future. I cooked the apples a little longer and whipped until smooth. Flavor was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
What an excellent substitution to the high fat, high calorie sweet potato casserole! We're adding this to our holiday traditions! Delicious! Note: Even our sons who aren't big on sweet potatoes love this one and came back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This ia a fabulous recipe and really easy. It tastes nothing like apple pie though. In fact, I couldn't even taste the apple. I used another tart apple because I didn't have a granny smith on hand. I think maybe I'll use more apples next time. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar for the sugar the recipe asks for. I think the brown sugar is better with the sweet potatoes than all white. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I have made this numerous times and my husband and I really enjoy it. It doesn't really taste like apple pie to us, but we enjoy it anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Fantastic and easy. My husband hates sweet potatoes and/or yams but loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Decent, but not as great as I was hoping it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Wowsa!! This is fabulous!! I bought enough sweet potatoes to try both this and Pineapple Sweet Potatoes (also found at this site)so the family could decide which one to take to Gramma's house on Thanksgiving. I don't even think I'll be trying the second recipe...this was the bomb! I added a second apple (and used Cortlands instead of Granny Smith), and also added about 1/3 cup brown sugar. Yum-a-liscious!! I decided to boil them before peeling, and was surpised to find out how easily the skins slipped off after boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I know most reviewers loved this recipe, but neither I nor my family liked it very much. As one reviewer suggested, I cooked the apple longer than the original recipe to make sure it was soft enough, but I still found the texture of the dish to be mealy. And so much cinnamon and allspice left a grainy, sandy texture to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Very easy. I like the taste of brown sugar in my sweet potatoes, so I used that instead of white sugar. I omited the milk and added 1 tbsp of apple juice to the apples while cooking. After mixing I put in a casserole and topped with marshmellows and dotted with butter baked at 350° untill marshmellows where melted(about 25min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This is one of my favorite vegetables now! It's so yummy. The first time i made it, i had to mix apples sepately b/c they weren't as soft as sweet potatoes, but second time i cooked apples about 15-20 mins and then everything was easy enough to smash w/ a fork. You can also pour in casserole dish and add marshmallows like sweet potato casserole but we like it plain as it is just as good and healthy for you that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States