Smushed Apples and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This was very good. My daughter loved it, my husband was so-so but he is not a sweet potato lover. I added a little extra butter when simmering the apples. I would not add the milk until you have begun to whip the potatos. The apples produce some juice which adds moisture. You run the risk of them being too watery. Add the milk later if needed. All in all a good recipe. It had a nice sweet and tart flavor that was different than your average mashed sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Family really liked it - ate it all, which is rare in our house. I used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
excellent side dish...i didn't put quite as much sugar as called for and omitted the milk completely...it would have made this batch very mushy and too wet for my liking. everyone enjoyed it, even 6 year old who has never eaten more than her "no thank you" bite of sweet potato! will be making at thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Even my 2 and 4 year olds ate this (with some butter mixed in). So, it gets a 5 from me. I didn't have a granny apple, so used golden, but we all liked it and will make again. Great with pork!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmorris1125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was good and healthy. I did make some changes: I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, I boiled the apples with the potatoes and added them to the spice mixture along with the milk, I added about 1/8 cup additional milk, I added some salt, and I added about 1/8 cup of maple syrup...it seemed to need this, without the syrup it was a little bland. Smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Yummy. The apples didn't get soft in the time it said to cook them, so next time I'll probably cut them smaller and cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Very yummy- great for holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Excellent, tasty recipe. Very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I used frozen diced sweet potatoes as a shortcut, and mashed everything with my potato masher. I didn't want to add extra sugar on top, so I just substituted about 1/2 brown sugar for the white sugar. It was great and my kids loved it. Will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
mixture was a little waterey but tasted good. the apples needed longer cooking time. I put the apple chunks in after mixing sweet potatoes instead of mixing in with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States