Smucker's® Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Very very rich. Had to mellow it out with some ice cream. Very easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Deaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
These are good but much better when made with real caramels and cream instead of the ice cream topping. The ice cream topping just doesn't taste very caramel when it's all cooked together. Instead of ice cream topping and flour use 14oz pkg of caramels and melt in microwave. So much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Made the recipe as is, without nuts. Was fantastic. Remember to bake far enough ahead to cool completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
made these to take to a family gathering. very popular, i sent the leftovers home with my uncle who was crazy over them! easy to make too. a must for caramel lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
baba loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I have been making these for over 30 years as well. Word to the wise: only use smuckers caramel topping!! It spreads better than any other topping available. Also, it is better if you melt the butter on top of the stove rather than in the microwave: microwaved butter makes the batter too goey to crumble or spread. Wonderful recipe!! My coworkers and family fight over the last piece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I would give these 10 stars if I could. This is the third time making these in 3 weeks, and each time, they came out AWESOME!! I will only use this recipe.. by far, it beats others I've tried. I'm not sure what the reviewer below me means "too much butter". The chocolate chips measurement is the perfect amount, and do taste mostly caramel. I love that this is a soft bar, because other caramel bar recipes are too hard on the teeth. I'm hooked, I'll be baking these during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I wanted to love these but I really just didn't. I think the caramel flavor gets lost and there is an awful lot of butter which I just can't get over since the flavor isn't there. They basically take like chewy chocolate oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were excellent. So easy to make. Next time I will add more chocolate chips and maybe try adding some coconut. Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These were fantastic!! Everyone loved them! I defintely have to make them again..I used crushed glazed walnuts for the nuts. Thank you..mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States