Smucker's Chicken Salad with Wild Rice, Pecans, Grapes and Orange Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was a yummy combination of flavors, and is a great way to use leftover roast chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I seasoned the chicken a little, and I used 2 boxes of original rice-a -roni (white and wild rice mixed) without the seasoning pkt. I loved the flavor! This is a great side dish for pot-luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I brought this to a baby shower last week and it was a BIG hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I did make a few minor changes however. As another reviewer noted, the sauce was a little thick so I added the juice of the orange I used for the orange rind and it was a bit tart so I added a few teaspons of balsamic vinegar. I used Raspberry Wine Vinegar (Reese's) which I think has more flavor than regular Raspberry Vinegar. Also, I marinated the chicken breasts in a Balsamic Vinaigrette salad dressing (Wishbone, Kraft, etc.) for about an hour and cooked them on the grill. I used a rice that was a combination of wild, red, white and brown (Texmati). It comes in a plastic bottle/jar. It was very nice because it doesn't stick together. The marmalade was the secret ingredient that no one could figure out. Husbands liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
AWESOME!! THIS WAS A GREAT & EASY RECIPE. INSTEAD OF COOKING THE CHICKEN AT HOME, I PURCHASED AN ALREADY COOKED CHICKEN (DEFINITE TIME SAVER). ANOTHER SUGGESTION--WITH THANKSGIVING COMING UP, THIS WOULD BE A GREAT OPTION FOR LEFTOVER TURKEY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Using what I had on hand, I substituted Unble Ben's long grain and wild rice mix, apricot pinapple jam and a raspberry walnut vinaigrette. I also added a touch of caraway. The result was very, very tasty! A keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
i used red grapes, skipped the orange zest and used black raspberry jam instead of orange marmalade... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is delicious! A perfect dinner for a hot summer day. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia O'C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My husband is a vegetarian, so I omitted the chicken and cut down the dressing a little bit. It was a delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Mancini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I brought this to a baby shower last week and it was a BIG hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I did make a few minor changes however. As another reviewer noted, the sauce was a little thick so I added the juice of the orange I used for the orange rind and it was a bit tart so I added a few teaspons of balsamic vinegar. I used Raspberry Wine Vinegar (Reese's) which I think has more flavor than regular Raspberry Vinegar. Also, I marinated the chicken breasts in a Balsamic Vinaigrette salad dressing (Wishbone, Kraft, etc.) for about an hour and cooked them on the grill. I used a rice that was a combination of wild, red, white and brown (Texmati). It comes in a plastic bottle/jar. It was very nice because it doesn't stick together. The marmalade was the secret ingredient that no one could figure out. Husbands liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is wonderful!! I seasoned my wild rice by substituting about 1/4C fresh orange juice (the juice of 1 orange) for part of the water called for in the rice cooking directions. I also added a long strip of the orange rind to the water and a stick of cinnamon, (both removed at the end of cooking) and added 1/4C craisins. I added about 1/4 C chopped cashews to this salad also and omitted the salt completely(for health reasons). This salad has so much flavor that the salt was not missed at all. I served it on a bed of baby spinach and had it as a main dish. What a wonderfully cool and refreshing summertime meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States