Smucker's® Cherry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kristianna
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I added a little almond paste to the swirl and some almond extract after reading a few reviews that it was bland. Used black cherry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristianna
Living In: New Delhi, Delhi, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This looked and sounded like it should be greeat; however, it turned out to be so bland that I kept going over the recipe to see if I missed something. Not something we'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
If dough is bland add a small amount (1/4 tsp?) of almond extract to it and the powdered sugar glaze. That should help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My husband and I thought the coffee cake was bland as well. Disappointed, it looked so good. 375 for baking was definetly too high. I should have gone with my instinct and baked it at 355.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Overdone at 35 minutes. Try 30. Maybe even lower the oven temp. Cherry preserves were good, but it might be better with cherry pie filling. Not sure cake pans is the best form. Try it as a braid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
soft bread cake love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I have reviewed the recipe to be sure that I didn't so something wrong and I really don't think I made a mistake, but who knows. My husband and I thought it was VERY bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Henderson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this late at night and tasted it right away--at that point it was fantastic; practically melted in my mouth. However, by the next morning it already tasted stale to me. I would definitely recommend the recipe if you are baking it right before you serve it; however if I hadn't tasted it until the next morning I wouldn't be making it again. I substituted raspberry jam for the cherry preserves because that is what I had on hand, and omitted the almonds. The glaze is a must--it adds some needed sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
SPLIT THIS IN TWO UNLESS YOU WANT TWO LARGE COFFEE CAKES!! You wouldn't notice that unless you read the recipe first. I don't think you'll need two big cakes (large plate size) at once. A nice sweet-bread type coffee cake with a light glaze and a small stripe of cherry in each piece. My husband really likes this. It's not what I traditionally think of as coffee cake (more bumpy with sugary bits, and a square instead of a circle, I guess - lol), but that's what makes it special. It looks a little fancier, I think. I used Bonne Maman Preserves (Cherry) from France b/c that's what they had at our Vons, and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is wonderful. Since I don't like Cherries or anything flavored in Cherry. I used STrawberry instead. Will defiantely make again and again and my family loved it. If you don't love to back probably not the recipe for you as it does take a little time, but it was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv2Luv_Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States