Smothered Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I tried the recipe today and it was very delicious. I changed it up a bit. I added bell pepper and sauteed the onion and bell pepper before adding the potatoes. I used steak seasoning, black pepper, and garlic salt. I also cooked with Olive oil and added some real bacon bits and shredded Parmesan cheese with chicken broth instead of water. I will be using this recipe again. I liked it as well, even though I don't like potatoes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The 'batter' fell off while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Seemed like a lot of work for not a lot of payoff. Needs rosemary or some other herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I add also Steak Seasoning and it tasted better! My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
it came out great. I never coated my potatoes before and was scared it was gonna turn to gravy. lol. IT was good though. Oh and I used regular Russett potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
It was good, but I thought it could have used more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
i used a package of frozen cubed potatoes and onions, and used chicken stock instead of water. the seasoning was ok(used salt, pepper and garlic powder), but something wasn't right/the taste was off. next time i will try fresh, red potatoes. i also fried bacon and used the bacon grease to cook the potatoes. maybe i wont do that next time either...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigoblu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was a simple dish, but I still found it fairly disappointing. I tried to make it exactly as written, but it didn't turn out to look much like the example photo. (At least, mine weren't nearly as brown.) I thought there was too much flour and it made the dish into a crumbly mess. And I thought that maybe the liquid ingredients (oil and then water) were too little. This was just nothing special to me, and not worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It was great except added a lot more water - the 3 tablespoons of water evaporated as soon as I poured them in. I'll be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was soo excited to find this recipe! My mom made this ALL the time when I was little and I remember loving the cooked flour part! It's lovin' in the tummy! I changed the recipe just a bit. I sauteed the onions in a tablespoon of olive oil and added a tsp of sugar and 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar. I proceeded with the recipe as is, except after the potatoes were done and cooling, I added 2 more tbsps of balsamic vinegar. The vinegar really added a complexity of flavors that made this recipe POP! I don't remember my mom's potatoes being ready so quickly, but I give the recipe 5 stars alone for the quick prep and cook time! Thanks MSUNA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ednichol

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States