Smothered Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I add also Steak Seasoning and it tasted better! My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
it came out great. I never coated my potatoes before and was scared it was gonna turn to gravy. lol. IT was good though. Oh and I used regular Russett potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
It was good, but I thought it could have used more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
i used a package of frozen cubed potatoes and onions, and used chicken stock instead of water. the seasoning was ok(used salt, pepper and garlic powder), but something wasn't right/the taste was off. next time i will try fresh, red potatoes. i also fried bacon and used the bacon grease to cook the potatoes. maybe i wont do that next time either...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigoblu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was a simple dish, but I still found it fairly disappointing. I tried to make it exactly as written, but it didn't turn out to look much like the example photo. (At least, mine weren't nearly as brown.) I thought there was too much flour and it made the dish into a crumbly mess. And I thought that maybe the liquid ingredients (oil and then water) were too little. This was just nothing special to me, and not worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It was great except added a lot more water - the 3 tablespoons of water evaporated as soon as I poured them in. I'll be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was soo excited to find this recipe! My mom made this ALL the time when I was little and I remember loving the cooked flour part! It's lovin' in the tummy! I changed the recipe just a bit. I sauteed the onions in a tablespoon of olive oil and added a tsp of sugar and 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar. I proceeded with the recipe as is, except after the potatoes were done and cooling, I added 2 more tbsps of balsamic vinegar. The vinegar really added a complexity of flavors that made this recipe POP! I don't remember my mom's potatoes being ready so quickly, but I give the recipe 5 stars alone for the quick prep and cook time! Thanks MSUNA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ednichol
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe by itself was rather bland. The potatoes looked and smelled great, but tasted so-so. I simmered with chicken broth instead of water, added some Italian seasoning, a shake of garlic powder, and some Artisan Blend shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
my family though5t this a great change from the everyday potatoe. We added a tablespoon of garlic power and used olive oil instead of of veg oil. It came out with a great taste. It was a great time saver as well. It only took 30 minutes from start to finish. This is a keeper in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Wonderful! I made them w/ our eggs & bacon for this mornings breakfast. Thanks for another great way for potaoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States