Smothered Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe by itself was rather bland. The potatoes looked and smelled great, but tasted so-so. I simmered with chicken broth instead of water, added some Italian seasoning, a shake of garlic powder, and some Artisan Blend shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
my family though5t this a great change from the everyday potatoe. We added a tablespoon of garlic power and used olive oil instead of of veg oil. It came out with a great taste. It was a great time saver as well. It only took 30 minutes from start to finish. This is a keeper in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Wonderful! I made them w/ our eggs & bacon for this mornings breakfast. Thanks for another great way for potaoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! It's very good as is and easy to change by adding different ingrediants and spices. I allways add minced garlic at the end of browning the potatoes.Sometimes I add some fresh rosemary and lemon juice and sometime jalapenos and cumin. You can let your imagination go wild with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I fried some chopped bacon in the pan first for extra flavour. The addition of bacon made it so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
May need something extra... Tried with Parmesan cheese on top, cheddar may be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very simple and very good. My husband ate on them for 3 days in his morning omlet and reqested I make them often for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These were wonderful even the next day. No need to peel the potatoes, just scrub well. I made a few changes based on other reviews; doubled the onion, used a low sodium BBQ seasoning instead of salt and pepper and used some left over beef broth I had in the fridge. To insure that they weren't dry I added a little broth every five minutes or so and stirred well. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
My husband loved these potatoes! I didn't think they were anything special, but they were good and really easy to make. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Waco, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
The method use to cook item is great. Only thing missing is a little more seasoning. I used some paprika and garlic salt and my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States