Smothered Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I had thawed pork chops, and was looking for a quick recipe that isn't part of my normal cooking routine. I saw this, and had everything so have it a shot, even though it sounded too easy. I'm usually sceptic of dumping ingredients into a pan. It looked like pink liquidy goo worth onions ontop. After 50mins off cooking, i got out my cast iron skillet, and had to "Brown" everything to get it to look appetizing, after reading others reviews, I really needed to Brown the pork chops first, and really,I should have known better. It came out good after lots of alterations, like adding garlic, sage, rosemary, thyme, and lots of cracked pepper. Also, some water since it was getting too thick. I will make this again, but start in a skillet with butter and browning the pork chops. Removing them, sauteing the onions, then aging the soup with water, the spices, then aging the pork chops back in and letting it simmer, Or transfer to the oven to bake. It was a mess going from the baking dish typ the cast iron skillet, and an extra 30to 45 mins. I could see how out could be a glorious one dish recipe that's easy, but it didn't do well for me just dumping in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Mead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious. I used a pork loin cut into strips that were 2inx4in. I only used 1 can of soup because I wasn't cooking up a lot of pork. My meat was somewhat frozen so I cooked for two hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
It was very yummy and family friendly! Made a few changes. I used 1 can cream of chicken and mushroom soup with half a can of milk mixed in. I crushed up french's fried onions and sprinkled them over the top of the pork chops, a little garlic salt and generously peppered the chops. Then poured the soup mixture over the top then covered with aluminum foil. Baked for 1 hr then served over steamed rice. No photo, because we ate it all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Taste is 3 stars ease is 5 stars. I am glad to have something like this to go to after work and the family gets fast comfort food. Thank you. Anyone who is honestly expecting gormet out of a can of soup and a pork chop needs to get real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was easy and economical. A great base recipe to make your own. I seasoned my chops well and browned them, placed in bottom of slow cooker, mixed 1 can cream of mushroom, minced garlic, 1/2 an envelope of dried onion soup mix, about 1/4 c white wine, and 1 can of mushrooms. Then poured over the chops. I cooked this on low 6 hours and it was perfect. Finished it off with a little sour cream to help cut the salt. Served with pasta. Definitely not gourmet but a good pantry/ freezer meal when you don't feel much like cooking and are low on groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dlastqueen
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I wanted to try this with a slow cooker. I read some of the reviews and tweaked it by adding 1 envelope of dry onion soup mix and frying my chops. It turned out pretty well but I should have sprayed the sides of the cooker with some type of oil. It was kinda of greasy because instead of "browning" my chops, I fried them. LOL...will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years...my change to this recipe is 8 boneless thick cut pork chops, 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, salt and pepper to taste. Put all ingrediants into a 7 quart crock pot on low. When done the chops will break apart easily with a fork. My husbands favorite way for this to be served is over cooked egg noodles, another fav is over mashed potatoes. I usually put this together in the crock pot before I go to work in the morning, when I get home I just make up the noodles or potatoes and then spoon the pork chops and sauce over them. It's incredibly simple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma0f4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is really simple, and I let my imagination run wild. Instead of Pork, I used Turkey Meatballs added a shot of white wine, ground pepper, minced garlic, canned mushroom saving the juices, and a couple dashes of Worchester sauce. Never added salt, because salt was already in the canned items. Served over egg noodles. It turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was ok, not much flavor, I added a little bit of garlic and thats all you tasted. I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
A very easy recipe to prepare and my husband cleaned his plate. The only change I made was to fry the pork chops in butter; remove the chops to a casserole, and added mushroom soup to the frying pan dripping plus ½ can of water. After bring the soup to a boil I then added the soup to the casserole, cover it with foil, and baked it for 30 min at 350 degrees. All in all it was very tastily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States