Smothered Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
A very easy recipe to prepare and my husband cleaned his plate. The only change I made was to fry the pork chops in butter; remove the chops to a casserole, and added mushroom soup to the frying pan dripping plus ½ can of water. After bring the soup to a boil I then added the soup to the casserole, cover it with foil, and baked it for 30 min at 350 degrees. All in all it was very tastily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
very yummy and simple recipe! loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Leilani

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lihue, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
really easy and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by memorysketch
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Ladies and gentlemen, I am confused. When I made this recipe, it smelled great. The pork was fantastic – I wish I had more in the freezer it was so good. The sauce, however, left something to be desired. I’m just not sure what that something is. It’s a trifle .. well, it’s not bland. I just don’t know what it is. The dish didn’t get past the mushroom soup-beefy onion soup – gaahhhrlic - oniony-ness that seemed to overpower the pork. That’s probably my fault, since I strayed from the recipe. But my family and I – including my picky daughter – ate it up. But when it came to left overs, I couldn’t make myself eat it for a day or two. And then I was staaarrving for protein, and all of a sudden there was a ton of pork left over that was just begging to be consumed. This recipe isn’t one I’d purposefully set out to make ever again. It’s not for dinner parties. But if it’s the end of the month and money is scarce, and the ingredients are something you’ve got in your pantry, (and let’s face it, most of us do) it’s some good eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memorysketch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I just made this with the added onion soup mix and it was the most delicious smothered pork chop ever!! This will be my one smothered pork chop recipe. Delicious and couldn't be easier to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This dish was pretty good. I enjoyed the 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. However, I do find the recipe missing something - salt, pepper, string beans, carrots, maybe? Whatever it is, the magic ingredient would definitely make this a stellar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Easy, but over powered with onion. I won't make this again. It was also really bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sml

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Tried this last night, family loved it. We did alter just a little, we used a little less soup as we had sweet potato casserole and also we sauteed the onions till they were a little brown. Flavor was great and chops fell of bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I liked this one. I added a small can of mushrooms and some minced garlic and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I was looking for something that didn't require a ton of ingredients and was easy to prepare. This recipe was it! I've tried a pot roast cooked in a similar fashion and loved it, so I thought I would give this a whirl. Since it is just me, I cooked one pork chop with 1/2 can of soup. I seasoned with rosemary and onion flakes, plus salt. I found the pork chop moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper for me! It's easy to throw in the oven after work while I take the dogs for a walk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States