Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is a traditional southern dish that I grew up on in South Carolina. We always pan-fried the chops first, then removed them from the oil once they were brown. We then added the onions until they were carmelized threw the chops back in the pan and added the richness of a can of Cream of Mushroom Soup. Talk about intense flavor. Served over a bed of hot rice it is heavenly. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Big hit. Based on the reviews and concern that it might be bland I did season the chops with seasoning salt and pepper before browning them. I also doubled the gravy, you can never have too much gravy in our house. It turned out wonderfully and went great with the mashed potatoes and green beans with blue cheese. Thanks for adding a great meal to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! My 18 year old son said he had a "new favorite" meal! Great recipe and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This is a great way to make chops with a little less fat. A really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Awful. Now to be honest, I'm not the best cook and have yet to make pork chops that were "tender". I followed the recipe decreasing the flour to 1/4 cup (as suggested) and used Worcestershire, rosemary, season salt & pepper - also as suggested by reviewers. Cooked boneless chops a little less than 30 minutes. They were DRY. The sauce was VERY thin and had a "funky" taste to it and very little flavor. Now again, I could have made a mistake somewhere, but I double checked to make sure I didn't miss anything. These were NOT good. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Made these a couple weeks ago. They were fantastic!!!! Neither I or boyfriend have had smothered pork chops in years. Along with the green beans, garlic mash potatoes and homemade buttermilk biscuts...brought back a lot of memories. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I followed this recipe exactly and we were all very disappointed. It was bland, with no flavor and I had to add a jar of gravy and seasonings to give it some kind of flavor. To be blunt, it was nasty. My 4 year old who eats anything and everything, wouldn't touch it after the first bite and I ended up having to make her a separate meal. My husband, who loves smothered gravy, asked me never to make it again and we ended up giving it to the dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This was just ok. The gravy was too thick and not very flavorful. 1/3 cup of flour is just too much, I'm afraid. The pork wasn't very tender either. At the last minute I added a bunch of black pepper for flavor. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Smothered chops are a traditional southern comfort food served over a bed of white rice. This recipe is not the best (or tastiest) way of preparing it. Follow this instead: Heat veg oil in deep pot, season your chops (use bone in chops, not boneless) with salt & pepper or even seasoning salt, dredge chops in flour, fry chops just until brown on each side (chops will still be raw in the middle), remove & drain on paper towels, remove all oil from pot except approx 1/4 cup, add onions & sliced bell peppers, brown until tender, add chops back in and add just enough water to cover chops, cook covered on med/low for about 45 minutes. You can stir it a couple times just to make sure everything is cooking evenly. The chops will be tender and a delicious gravy will be ready to add to the rice. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
My son especially loved this recipe and he wants me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States