Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is a keeper! Even my picky child ate all of his pork chop. Extremely tender, cut with a fork. Maybe those negative comments cooked their pork chops instead of just browning them. I browned the outside since it would be simmering for another 30-40 minutes. I will also make with mashed potatoes to enjoy the gravy even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very good very easy. I'm not sure what browning sauce is so I didn't use it. I browned the chops in a little butter took them out then added the onion and garlic and cooked them a bit then added the flour and cooked it a little bit until it was brown then I added the chicken broth and water added the chops back in and simmered until cooked through.They came out tender an juicy. Served with mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
cooked forr twenty minutes, still a little dry. Good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katopotato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Love this!!!! Easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great, tender, and easy! Flavoring was good, but not 5-star good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was really good. I added Worcestershire and put extra gravy. I also put garlic powder, pepper and parsley on the chops while they were being cooked. I also used very little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Thank you for the recipe! I used it as a base by browning the pork chops spiced with Tony's and then sauteing store bought seasoning mix of onions, bell pepper, and parsley. I made my own gravy to add to the skillet and then I let everything cook as directed. I made extra gravy to go with homemade garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thetravelingcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Easy to cook but VERY bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very easy, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and seasoned the pork chops with season salt and pepper prior to browning. I also added 2 T. thyme while it was simmering and it added a great flavor. Finally a tender pork chop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States