Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chantel Foster
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
nailed it on my 1st try. and it taste delicious. currently having a love affair in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is what my family calls "a keeper"! I had some boneless pork chops and was looking for a good recipe. I had to make some substitutions - no onions, because my husband won't eat them, and beef broth instead of chicken (because I was out of chicken broth). Some homemade mashed potatoes and fresh green beans and this meal was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I had never had smothered pork chops before but the pic made it look so good that I thought I would try them. I was a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews (but why would you add rosemary and Worcestershire anyway?). I misread the "browning sauce" as bullion sauce and used "better than bullion beef base" instead. Maybe a happy accident because OMG, they turned out awesome! I had super-thick chops so I let them simmer over low heat for an hour and they just fell apart. I served with smashed potatoes and from the first bite, my husband just raved and was very disappointed that we did not have more than one round of leftovers. I will make these again but will double the recipe. I'm too afraid to use browning sauce now since these turned out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed! My 4 y.o. Daughter even enjoyed! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Awesome recipe, kids and husband loved it and it's been added to the Jones Family Meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Yea, yea, that's the spirit! I wa(s reluctant after some reviews, this turned out great. Needed more gravy). It's a keeper. Season meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edd Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I was raised in a Southern family, and the way my mother and grandmother taught me was to fry the pork chops in a skillet first. Remove them from the oil, and remove the oil from the pan. Make some onion gravy in the skillet you used, and then put the chops in the gravy, and "smother" them with the gravy. We always ate ours with rice, and it's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reitha
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I browned the chops first, then removed them from the pan while I cooked the onions and garlic. Then added the things for the gravy (I probly made 4 x the amount called for) added 1 tbsp Worcestershire too then put the chops and their juices in the gravy, covered it, and cooked real low for about an hour. Oh and I used water instead of chicken broth, the Worcestershire sauce gives it plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I wish I coukd rate this even higher. It was so yummy, and I didn't feel like I splurged on my low cal diet. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States