Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
lumpy gravy with onion chunks. pork chops not so tender and drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My husband and I used this recipe, but changed a few things in order to add some more flavor. Instead of browning sauce we used about 3/4 tablespoon of cajun roux. We also cut down on the flour, perhaps a little too much since the sauce we just a bit runny. I also threw a couple cans of sliced mushrooms in, and added plenty of cajun seasoning and some cayenne pepper. It ended up being very tasty. We'll definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My family loves this dish. I always add extra garlic. Chops are super tender...my Mom kept asking me how I got them soooo tender. Definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I enjoyed my smoothered pork chops. May I suggest that you season your chops first. After that follow the recipe and you will enjoy tender juicy smoothered porks with a delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've been using this recipe for years and it's always a hit. Very easy, just make sure you start in more than enough time to ensure table time. Sometimes, I have to let this simmer for 2 hours to tender up my chops. But very delicious and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My family LOVED this, even my husband who is not a fan of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I seasoned our meat with black pepper and garlic salt. Otherwise followed the recipe directions. While it was not bad, it was not fabulous either. I found it to be a bit bland. I would use the recipe again as a base, but be sure to add spices to the gravy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I tried this as written first, which is why the 4 stars, good, but could be better. The second time I seared the chops in a very hot pan first, removed them and deglazed the pan with chicken stock. Then I caramelized the onions in the same pan, scraping up all the brown bits from the meat. Next I mixed the flour and stock, whisked that into the onion mix in the pan, and nestled the chops into the sauce and simmered for about 30 min. I used regular stock, not low sodium, so I did not use extra salt, but I did up the garlic. I also used Vidalia onions to give a nice sweet taste to the chops. They came out great, and I served them with garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was great. Tender. Did need some salt and pepper. And I did not cook them for as long as it says, I did 24 minutes. I like pork to be 160 degrees. Don't forget salt though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My family liked this. It was pretty easy to throw together. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did different was season the chops with some seasoning salt and put a little olive oil in the pan to saute them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States