Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
We thought these were okay. They were a little bland even with using seasoning salt and pepper. It made a nice gray but it still was bland. The gravy was great over mashed potatoes. Will make again but will need to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the first time I tried this recipe. I added a little sea salt and black pepper but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as is It was absolutely scrumptious. I love pork chops and usually fry them but after trying this everyone in my home simply loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this for my family last night and everything turned out fine. I took the advice of another reviewer and made a roux after browning the chops. I added all of the liquid ingredients last (after browning). I also got creative and decided to add (1) can of cream of chicken soup. Chops were tender and the sauce was very delicious; I served them with mashed potatoes and sweet corn. I'll be keeping this recipe front and center, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
We didn't expect much from the list of recipes but the gravy was so good we saved the leftovers and are trying to figure out what meal we can make next to put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
These are fantastic. I did season the chops with seasoming salt as suggested by other reviews and I cook the onion till nearly carmalized and then add and cook the garlic till the onions are camalized. I do this because my husband doesn't like onions and this way they cook completly down. After the onions and garlic are done I remove them and then cook the chops and then I throw them back in whith the rest of the ingredeants. My hubsand is extremly picky and he loves this dish. So much so that I've made it probably 10 times in the last two months since finding the recipie here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
It was a great dinner.. i didnt want to mess up the recipe so i followed it exactly the way i saw it.. the only difference i made was doubling up on the gravy n seasoning the porkchops 1st.. next time ill add some green peppers and some mushrooms.. but great dish thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmin Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
added salt, pepper and garlic to gravy and it came out amazing! This would have been 5 stars if i did not have to season it myself as previous people suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe was a great recipe. I added salt pepper and garlic powder to the chops before frying. I also tripled the gravy recipe to cover chops as they simmered. It need more gravy mixture and then we finally had enough to cover chops . But it was really tasty and I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Tomassacci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I included 1/2 can of cream of chicken soup and pepper, it came out great! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
My family loved this dish. I pretty much stuck to the recipe just well seasoned my porkchops and also threw some worchestire on it also as stated on another review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States