Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This turned out really well, but since I didn't have browning sauce, I had to add lots of seasoning. I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbradr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I read that it was bland so when I was browning the chops I also seasoned them with some johnnys and it turned out great and if it's too thick just add some more water... It's simple and the wife and kid loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made it exactly as stated, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I love this recipe and so does my family. I always add a little salt and pepper to my chops before frying them and since I never remember to buy browning sauce I use a few shakes of soy sauce instead, comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Serious YUM!!! These were sooooo good! We made them the other night, and they will definitely be a favorite we will make again! I read through some of the negative ratings for this, and made a few modifications that made it out of this world! I can understand how some were saying they were bland, you really do have to season the pork chops to give them their kick. I put a rub on the chops before browning them, the rub consisted of ground pepper, accent, thyme, and a little smokehouse maple seasoning. (you probably couldn't go wrong with a little cayenne, if you like a bit of spice?) Also, I don't understand how adding the flour to the pan could be any good either? I made the gravy the old fashioned way. I put the broth, flour, and browning in a jar, sealed the lid, and shook it up before pouring it over the chops. Much easier!! Let me tell you, if these are done right, they are to DIE for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
We thought these were okay. They were a little bland even with using seasoning salt and pepper. It made a nice gray but it still was bland. The gravy was great over mashed potatoes. Will make again but will need to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the first time I tried this recipe. I added a little sea salt and black pepper but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as is It was absolutely scrumptious. I love pork chops and usually fry them but after trying this everyone in my home simply loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this for my family last night and everything turned out fine. I took the advice of another reviewer and made a roux after browning the chops. I added all of the liquid ingredients last (after browning). I also got creative and decided to add (1) can of cream of chicken soup. Chops were tender and the sauce was very delicious; I served them with mashed potatoes and sweet corn. I'll be keeping this recipe front and center, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
We didn't expect much from the list of recipes but the gravy was so good we saved the leftovers and are trying to figure out what meal we can make next to put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
These are fantastic. I did season the chops with seasoming salt as suggested by other reviews and I cook the onion till nearly carmalized and then add and cook the garlic till the onions are camalized. I do this because my husband doesn't like onions and this way they cook completly down. After the onions and garlic are done I remove them and then cook the chops and then I throw them back in whith the rest of the ingredeants. My hubsand is extremly picky and he loves this dish. So much so that I've made it probably 10 times in the last two months since finding the recipie here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States