Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Wonderful southern style smothered chops. Great gravy! Excellent over rice or potatos... a definate favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was a real winner at my house! Next time I'll add a little more seasoning to the chops and the gravy, it was just a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This turned out wonderfully! I used thinner chops (that I had to debone) and I cut the chops into smaller, just above bite-size pieces. I seasoned them well and doctored up the gravy with extra seasonings and a little hot sauce. I also sauted some chopped celery with the onions and garlic. So easy to make and customize! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Pretty good but next time I'd use a little less garlic...which is weird cause I LOVE garlic. I found though that it was too overpowering in this particular recipe. Also I'll try beef broth instead of chicken, but overall a good recipe. One more thing, watch it carefully or you'll overcook the chops like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Awesome recipe, well worth it, my husband doesn't even like pork chops, but he loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is a good base recipe, but to add more flavor be sure to season the chops well and add about 1/4 cup of diced green bell pepper, a little worstershire sauce, black pepper and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. Serve over hot Uncle Ben's Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANA1T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
surprising favorite used wine instead of water, added worchestershire, dill, parsley, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Sooo good. I made this exactly as the recipe stated other than using 1/4 cup flour rather than 1/3 cup and I omitted the browning sauce, but added a splash of Worchestire sauce. I cooked my porkchops for 45 minutes because they were pretty thick. I think next time I'll just do 30 minutes though. The gravy was amazing! I served it with mashed potatoes and asparagus spears. Hubby kept saying, "god this is good!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe is not bad. I will definitely make again- but I did adjust. Added marsala wine instead of water and seasoned with salt and pepper. Next time I will also season with parsley. It was still good I think- a little bland for my taste but a solid recipe and quick/easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was very good. My 20 month old wanted to eat and eat more! Which she never really eats meat to begin with. I didn't add the browning sauce (didn't have on hand) and cut the garlic in half (kids). Still tasted great to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States