Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I made this the other night and no one was too pleased. The gravy just seemed really bland and I had to add seasonins to perk it up. On the bright side, the chops were extremely tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I read the reviews before making this and noted that most were adding flavor. It does need it. I seasoned the pork and the flour for the sauce. It came out great, my family loved it. The pork was tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Wonderful southern style smothered chops. Great gravy! Excellent over rice or potatos... a definate favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was a real winner at my house! Next time I'll add a little more seasoning to the chops and the gravy, it was just a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This turned out wonderfully! I used thinner chops (that I had to debone) and I cut the chops into smaller, just above bite-size pieces. I seasoned them well and doctored up the gravy with extra seasonings and a little hot sauce. I also sauted some chopped celery with the onions and garlic. So easy to make and customize! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Pretty good but next time I'd use a little less garlic...which is weird cause I LOVE garlic. I found though that it was too overpowering in this particular recipe. Also I'll try beef broth instead of chicken, but overall a good recipe. One more thing, watch it carefully or you'll overcook the chops like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Awesome recipe, well worth it, my husband doesn't even like pork chops, but he loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is a good base recipe, but to add more flavor be sure to season the chops well and add about 1/4 cup of diced green bell pepper, a little worstershire sauce, black pepper and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. Serve over hot Uncle Ben's Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANA1T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
surprising favorite used wine instead of water, added worchestershire, dill, parsley, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Sooo good. I made this exactly as the recipe stated other than using 1/4 cup flour rather than 1/3 cup and I omitted the browning sauce, but added a splash of Worchestire sauce. I cooked my porkchops for 45 minutes because they were pretty thick. I think next time I'll just do 30 minutes though. The gravy was amazing! I served it with mashed potatoes and asparagus spears. Hubby kept saying, "god this is good!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States