Smothered Pheasant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I fried it like the recipe said for a few minutes on each side. Then since I did not have half and half I used Cream of Chicken soup and a little left over chicken stock. I added a 4 oz. can of green chiles and a small amount of milk. Mixed all of this together and poured over the pheasant breasts. I then added 2 stalks of chop celery and a few slices of white onion. I sprinkled some paprika, oregano, garlic salt and parsley on top. Bake them for 1 hour at 325 degrees in a covered casserole dish. It turned out pretty good! Moist and very flavorable. It was a tab bit dry but not to bad. At the end I added some brocolli. Served over white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is perfect as written. I used 3 whole pheasant breasts with bone-in since that is what we had from the hunt. I prepared the recipe just as written and served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli on the side. It was delicious! The gravy is not pretty to look at since the half-n-half curdles during the cooking, but it is delicious and rich tasting. The whole family loved it. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe is very easy to make and absolutely devine! I used the whole bird. I browned it in a skillet and then placed it in the crock pot to finish it off. It is a new Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was good, but the pheasant was just a tiny bit dry. I added a bit of garlic powder on the pheasant before dredging in flour, and added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the flour as well. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms which I sauteed in the butter. I only used 3 half breasts, but still used the whole two cups of half and half. I actually wished I'd used more. I served this over campanelle and we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made this for the Wild Game Feed which was held at the Wittenbergs last night (March 3, 2012). It was delicious. Served it with fettucine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good recipe, but I made changes. after browning the pheasant, I added 1/2 cup chopped celery, 1 cup chopped mushrooms and 1 medium chopped onion. I sauteed this in the pan for 3 minutes and then added the half and half. I put it all in a crock pot and cooked it on high. It turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Hi everyone, I'm the submitter of this recipe and I'd like to clarify something. AR changed my recipe a little. The breasts need not be "boneless halves". Pheasant breasts are small. I use skinless whole pheasant breasts with bone in. I remove the pan from the oven occasionally to stir and re-arrange the breasts so as to mix the cream well with the juices and cooked bits from the meat. The gravy is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States