Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I made a few changes. I added a little taco seasoning to the ricotta cheese mixture. instead of water I added salsa to the meat. I also added shredded cheese on top of the meat layers. It was Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Yum we loved this. Did make some changes though ricotta just seemed strange so left that out. I added refried beans and used rotel. Will make again. Maybe try black beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I did not like the Ricotta cheese & mexican flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tovi Stigger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
love this only thing i changed was my first layer was the shells then spread a can of re-fried beans on them and started my layering from there. everyone loved this and asked me to make it again very soon, oh and i used lean ground beef instead of turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
LOVED this recipe, but I did add a few tweaks! I mixed the ricotta with gorgonzola crumbles, a spicy cheese sauce from my native Austin, TX area, and various spices. In addition, I also did have a layer of refried beans. Top layer was a shredded Colby/Jack mix. Soooo good! :) Sour cream is a great topper, but guacamole on top is also fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was delicious! I omitted the extra water because I was afraid it would be to mushy and I also added black refried beans in the layers and it was just what it needed. Will add this to make often list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
It was Good!! I read all the reviews and took a little from here and a little from there. I left out the eggs. I did use ricotta and would leave it out next time. It wasn't bad, but I just didn't feel like it added any thing to the dish. I would replaced it with Fat free spicy refried beans and cheddar jack cheese shreds. I added them any way. It was easy and tasted very yummy!! I would recomend this recipe, but add what ever twist you like, IT WORKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I only added 1/4 cup of water. I warmed up refried beans with some water and put in layers: Tortillas, refried beans, riccotta, meat mix, shredded tex-mex cheese. I topped it with more tex-mex cheese, cilantro and chopped olives. The family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
When I first made this I thought it was going to be way too watery but discovered that while baking, all the juices soak into the tortillas and make them just like lasagna noodles. I used ground beef instead of turkey and rinsed well before adding other ingredients to skillet. I also added a nacho taco cheese blend between layers. Overall this is a wonderful twist on taco night that the whole family LOVES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Very simple and easy to make. I didn't have any taco seasoning so I added paprika, cumin, garlic, chili powder, oregano and salt and pepper. Plus some shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheese and a can of corn. I also used corn tortillas because that was what I had on hand. My husband and children liked this dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States