Smothered Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Yum we loved this. Did make some changes though ricotta just seemed strange so left that out. I added refried beans and used rotel. Will make again. Maybe try black beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I did not like the Ricotta cheese & mexican flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tovi Stigger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
love this only thing i changed was my first layer was the shells then spread a can of re-fried beans on them and started my layering from there. everyone loved this and asked me to make it again very soon, oh and i used lean ground beef instead of turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
LOVED this recipe, but I did add a few tweaks! I mixed the ricotta with gorgonzola crumbles, a spicy cheese sauce from my native Austin, TX area, and various spices. In addition, I also did have a layer of refried beans. Top layer was a shredded Colby/Jack mix. Soooo good! :) Sour cream is a great topper, but guacamole on top is also fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was delicious! I omitted the extra water because I was afraid it would be to mushy and I also added black refried beans in the layers and it was just what it needed. Will add this to make often list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
It was Good!! I read all the reviews and took a little from here and a little from there. I left out the eggs. I did use ricotta and would leave it out next time. It wasn't bad, but I just didn't feel like it added any thing to the dish. I would replaced it with Fat free spicy refried beans and cheddar jack cheese shreds. I added them any way. It was easy and tasted very yummy!! I would recomend this recipe, but add what ever twist you like, IT WORKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I only added 1/4 cup of water. I warmed up refried beans with some water and put in layers: Tortillas, refried beans, riccotta, meat mix, shredded tex-mex cheese. I topped it with more tex-mex cheese, cilantro and chopped olives. The family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
When I first made this I thought it was going to be way too watery but discovered that while baking, all the juices soak into the tortillas and make them just like lasagna noodles. I used ground beef instead of turkey and rinsed well before adding other ingredients to skillet. I also added a nacho taco cheese blend between layers. Overall this is a wonderful twist on taco night that the whole family LOVES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Very simple and easy to make. I didn't have any taco seasoning so I added paprika, cumin, garlic, chili powder, oregano and salt and pepper. Plus some shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheese and a can of corn. I also used corn tortillas because that was what I had on hand. My husband and children liked this dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The recipe is good if you edit it I put very little ricotta cheese it didn't belong and added some garlic powder, scallions, and oregano. It was delicious I substituted the beef for turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexielexius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States