Smothered Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
My rating is for the sauce only, since I used pre-made meatballs as a shortcut. I really liked the sauce. It is similar to Beef stroganoff sauce. It was tasty and creamy, even with low fat sour cream and skim milk. To bring out the flavor in the mushrooms, I suggest lightly sauteeing them in butter before adding to the rest of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I replaced green peppers with red and it was great. I used garlic salt for the gravy. Yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Watersmeet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very good! I used soy sauce instead of browning sauce and doubled the sauce recipe (other wise not enough sauce for rice). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! Even without the browning sauce. I change the green peppers for green beans sometimes and they still come out delicious. I will make it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Family Favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Delicious. Halved the recipe and it was perfect. We really enjoyed this--thanks for the recipe! Oh, and I didn't add any green pepper, and I don't think we missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I mix in a package of Stove Top for the filler and a 1/4 cup of rice with the onion. Gives the meatballs a nice flavor. For the gravy, I brown the meatballs on the stove turning every so often and then once I remove the meatballs from the pan I use the drippings in combo with a can of cream of mushroom and a can of either cream of chicken or cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love this recipe... only thing I do different, and doesn't change the taste, is use cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs... it's become a twice a month dinner dish in our home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I have been looking for a great meatball recepie for years and this one is the best I have ever had. I took this to a potluck dinner for our campground winter get together and everyone raved about them I all asked for the receipe. Instead of rolling it into balls I have even made this in the meat loaf form and it was GREAT! thanks for this recepie and keep them comming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I thought this recipe was good! I did tweak it a bit according to my taste i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States