Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I prepared this recipe for my family and it was a hit. Even my non-meat eating daughter loved it and asked for seconds! I also used a half packed of beef and onion soup mix. Just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is Wonderful. I did add some beefy Lipton onion because I didn't have the beef base on hand. I only used 1/2 packet thinking it might be to salty. 5 stars on smell & taste! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I fixed this exactly as directed. I did cut the receipe in half since I was feeding only my husband and me. We both thought it was very good. I wouldn't change a thing. The steaks held together well, and beef base and worchestershire sauce flavored the steaks just right. I would suggest spraying the pan before browning the meat. I cooked in an electric skillet which was large enough to cook all of the patties at once. Thanks for a good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Delicious! I’ll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
So good! Hubby was in heaven. The gravy is great. We had it over mashed potatoes. I sauted about a cup of thinly sliced onion, and added those to the gravy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
10 Stars for Quick & Easy! The gravy is a wonderful taste. I too used 1/2 packet of Beefy onion. As the recipe states this can be easily tweaked to your liking. It is fast & Easy & thats what i look for. Taste is well & you can put your own spin or creation on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
just finished supper-and this stuff is GREAT! i did halve the recipe as there's just the two of us...hubby is finishing up his second helping. mmm! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Loved it! Also added 1/2 pack of lipton onion soup mix instead of beef base. Will be a regular at my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband and my 9yr old LOVED this! I improvised only b/c I did not have the exact ingredients you called for on hand. Instead of beef base, I just used a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Used fresh red onion instead of minced, and a few hawaiian rolls instead of white bread. These turned out perfect, and were a huge hit. I will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odom02

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
i loved it. it came out really good. was a great hit with my family i did everthing that it called for except the worcestershire sauce and added a little beef base to the gravy mix. came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States