Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is Wonderful. I did add some beefy Lipton onion because I didn't have the beef base on hand. I only used 1/2 packet thinking it might be to salty. 5 stars on smell & taste! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
So good! Hubby was in heaven. The gravy is great. We had it over mashed potatoes. I sauted about a cup of thinly sliced onion, and added those to the gravy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I fixed this exactly as directed. I did cut the receipe in half since I was feeding only my husband and me. We both thought it was very good. I wouldn't change a thing. The steaks held together well, and beef base and worchestershire sauce flavored the steaks just right. I would suggest spraying the pan before browning the meat. I cooked in an electric skillet which was large enough to cook all of the patties at once. Thanks for a good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Delicious! I’ll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I prepared this recipe for my family and it was a hit. Even my non-meat eating daughter loved it and asked for seconds! I also used a half packed of beef and onion soup mix. Just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
10 Stars for Quick & Easy! The gravy is a wonderful taste. I too used 1/2 packet of Beefy onion. As the recipe states this can be easily tweaked to your liking. It is fast & Easy & thats what i look for. Taste is well & you can put your own spin or creation on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
just finished supper-and this stuff is GREAT! i did halve the recipe as there's just the two of us...hubby is finishing up his second helping. mmm! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband and my 9yr old LOVED this! I improvised only b/c I did not have the exact ingredients you called for on hand. Instead of beef base, I just used a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Used fresh red onion instead of minced, and a few hawaiian rolls instead of white bread. These turned out perfect, and were a huge hit. I will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odom02

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Loved it! Also added 1/2 pack of lipton onion soup mix instead of beef base. Will be a regular at my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
i loved it. it came out really good. was a great hit with my family i did everthing that it called for except the worcestershire sauce and added a little beef base to the gravy mix. came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States