Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I fixed this exactly as directed. I did cut the receipe in half since I was feeding only my husband and me. We both thought it was very good. I wouldn't change a thing. The steaks held together well, and beef base and worchestershire sauce flavored the steaks just right. I would suggest spraying the pan before browning the meat. I cooked in an electric skillet which was large enough to cook all of the patties at once. Thanks for a good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is Wonderful. I did add some beefy Lipton onion because I didn't have the beef base on hand. I only used 1/2 packet thinking it might be to salty. 5 stars on smell & taste! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Excellent dish. One of my wifes favorites. I do not use the bread, and do not completely cook the hamburger before smothering in gravy. Has turned into a weekly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made minor changes. I did have beef base or worchesterchire sauce so I omitted them and the fresh onion--I used a few tablespoons of onion soup mix instead. I only had 20 oz of hamburger--though I did not scale it. I added a few tbsp of the soup mix to the mushroom gravy as well (served over buttered noodles). Everyone loved it, kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
10 Stars for Quick & Easy! The gravy is a wonderful taste. I too used 1/2 packet of Beefy onion. As the recipe states this can be easily tweaked to your liking. It is fast & Easy & thats what i look for. Taste is well & you can put your own spin or creation on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Always a wiinner in my kitchen! 8, 11 & 16 yr old girls and myself enjoy this dish. Made exactly as listed. (Mom's on a diet:) Okay I lied, I used wheat bread instead of white...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmL
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband and my 9yr old LOVED this! I improvised only b/c I did not have the exact ingredients you called for on hand. Instead of beef base, I just used a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Used fresh red onion instead of minced, and a few hawaiian rolls instead of white bread. These turned out perfect, and were a huge hit. I will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odom02

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
The patties were great! The "gravy" was terrible! I should've known better than to make mushroom soup for gravy. Homemade brown gravy would've been MUCH better. I salvaged my gravy by adding Kitchen Bouquet browning & seasoning sauce. I'll make these patties again, but not with canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
So good! Hubby was in heaven. The gravy is great. We had it over mashed potatoes. I sauted about a cup of thinly sliced onion, and added those to the gravy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Great little salisbury steak. I used a cube of beef boullion for the beef base and cut this in half except for the soup/water part. Very easy and very tasty too. Thanks JustJen33.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States