Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is Wonderful. I did add some beefy Lipton onion because I didn't have the beef base on hand. I only used 1/2 packet thinking it might be to salty. 5 stars on smell & taste! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I fixed this exactly as directed. I did cut the receipe in half since I was feeding only my husband and me. We both thought it was very good. I wouldn't change a thing. The steaks held together well, and beef base and worchestershire sauce flavored the steaks just right. I would suggest spraying the pan before browning the meat. I cooked in an electric skillet which was large enough to cook all of the patties at once. Thanks for a good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I prepared this recipe for my family and it was a hit. Even my non-meat eating daughter loved it and asked for seconds! I also used a half packed of beef and onion soup mix. Just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Tasty recipe, I thawed 3lbs instead of 2lbs so I had to add a lil more seasonings, I didn't have beef base so I used the same amount Onion Soup Mix, I used whole wheat bread, and instead of water with the soup I filled the can 1/2 with Heavy Whipping Cream and 1/2 with Beef Broth, after I took out the patties (used a big electric skillet) I threw in 1 large chopped onion and 1 can mushrooms and sauteed, then put my soup mixter in with that, then added the patties back in, Great recipe! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was pretty good stuff. I followed the recipe to a T. We enjoyed it with mashed taters and green beans =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Delicious! I’ll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
So good! Hubby was in heaven. The gravy is great. We had it over mashed potatoes. I sauted about a cup of thinly sliced onion, and added those to the gravy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This recipe probably won't blow anyone's mind, but it's still pretty good for how simple and quick it was to make. The only different thing I did was to add half of a beef bouillon cube to the sauce mixture. The gravy is great over mashed potatoes with green beans on the side. I'm sure we'll be having this quickie dinner again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I'm not sure if I did something wrong with this, but it turned out pretty mediocre for us. The sauce was good, but the beef itself was totally bland and dry. I might try it again with a few changes, though since we really liked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
10 Stars for Quick & Easy! The gravy is a wonderful taste. I too used 1/2 packet of Beefy onion. As the recipe states this can be easily tweaked to your liking. It is fast & Easy & thats what i look for. Taste is well & you can put your own spin or creation on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States