Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I can't give this any stars...I used the serving caculator for 2 servings and it showed 9 cups of beef base...I KNEW this wasn't right...so I jmade up 4 cups...here in the MidWest beef base is liquid..anyway, I made it according to what the calculator said minus 5 cups of the beef liquid...the patties didn't hold together, everything fell apart when trying to turn the patties and the flavor was bad...not horrible but bad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Pretty easy to make and good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
A childhood favorite I alway knew as "onion burgers" I have fond memories. Add an extra can of cream of mushroom and a dash of worestshire for extra gravy serve over mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaschultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
These were pretty good, I added sauteed bell pepper to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made minor changes. I did have beef base or worchesterchire sauce so I omitted them and the fresh onion--I used a few tablespoons of onion soup mix instead. I only had 20 oz of hamburger--though I did not scale it. I added a few tbsp of the soup mix to the mushroom gravy as well (served over buttered noodles). Everyone loved it, kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
i loved it. it came out really good. was a great hit with my family i did everthing that it called for except the worcestershire sauce and added a little beef base to the gravy mix. came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband and my 9yr old LOVED this! I improvised only b/c I did not have the exact ingredients you called for on hand. Instead of beef base, I just used a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Used fresh red onion instead of minced, and a few hawaiian rolls instead of white bread. These turned out perfect, and were a huge hit. I will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odom02

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
The patties were great! The "gravy" was terrible! I should've known better than to make mushroom soup for gravy. Homemade brown gravy would've been MUCH better. I salvaged my gravy by adding Kitchen Bouquet browning & seasoning sauce. I'll make these patties again, but not with canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
My boyfriend isn't big on any gravy except white/milk gravy so I made these without the gravy. Used Worchestershire sauce instead of the beef base and these were awesome. He ate until he couldn't eat anymore. Said it was the best hamburger steak he had since his mom, who is now in her 80's and doesn't cook anymore, had made them for him years and years ago. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Loved it! Also added 1/2 pack of lipton onion soup mix instead of beef base. Will be a regular at my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States